Homicide Victim's Family Benefits


Benefits may be available to assist you for the loss of your loved one. This section explains the Crime Victims Compensation Program (CVCP) and the benefits that can be provided to family members of homicide victims.

Additional information

Benefits available

Payment of funeral costs up to a maximum of $5,750. Funeral expenses include such costs as burial, cremation, cemetery plot, headstone, and funeral service.

  • CVCP will reimburse these expenses to the family member who paid for the services or the person who is responsible for payment.
  • Payment can be made directly to the service provider if we receive written authorization from the family member.
  • An itemized statement for burial expenses must be received within 12 months of the date upon which the death of the victim is officially recognized as a homicide.

As with other CVCP benefits, payment is secondary to other insurance benefits. However, the first $40,000 of life insurance proceeds are exempt from the provision.

Immediate family members of homicide victims may receive up to 12 counseling sessions within 1 year of claim allowance. Insurance coverage for counseling must be used if available.

The spouse, registered domestic partner, or dependent children of a deceased victim may be eligible to receive limited wage replacement benefits. Payments are based on a percentage of the victim's wages.

Required information

The CVCP must receive an application for benefits within 2 years of the date the crime was reported to police or within 5 years in certain circumstances.

The following information is needed to determine what benefits we can pay:

  • Copy of death certificate.
  • Copies of bills or receipts for funeral and burial expenses incurred received at CVCP within 12 months of the day the death was determined to be a homicide.
  • Information regarding any life insurance available.

If the victim was employed on the date of the crime the following additional information is needed:

  • Copy of marriage certificate or documentation of a domestic partnership.
  • Copies of birth certificates for any dependent children (or proof of paternity for any dependent children).
  • Documentation of the victim's wages. CVCP can obtain the documentation needed if the name, address, and phone number of the victim's employer is provided.
  • Documentation of social security benefits eligibility for surviving spouse and children.

Applying for benefits

The Application for Benefits - Crime Victims (F800‑042‑000) is available online from the CVCP, your local Victim and Witness Office, health-care providers of funeral home can help you obtain the form.

If you have any questions or need assistance please call the number below.

Monday through Friday
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Interpreters are available.

  • Voice: 800-762-3716.
  • Fax: 360-902-5333.


Burial and funeral

Funeral directors are required to give customers a price list of goods and services. For consumer concerns regarding burial and funeral expenses we have included a link to some websites that may be of interest.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.