Protest a Claim Decision

Employers, injured workers and attending medical providers may protest L&I decisions. Protests are also known as "requests for reconsideration."

File your protest in time

If a protest is not received within the legal time limit the decision becomes final.

  • 60 days to protest a claim decision or a payment decision.
  • 15 days to dispute a vocational determination.
  • 20 days for providers to protest a billing decision.

How to submit a protest

Your protest should include:

  • Claim number and worker's name (make sure this information is on every page).
  • Date and description of the decision or order.
  • The reason(s) for your protest (why you disagree with the decision).
  • Your name, address and telephone number.
  • Supporting information you consider important.

Submit a protest online or by mail:

  • Online at the secure Claim & Account Center (login or signup).
  • Mail your written protest to:
    Claims Administration
    Department of Labor & Industries
    PO Box 44291
    Olympia, WA 98504-4291.

L&I's review of the protest

L&I staff will review your protest then notify you of the new decision by mail.

If you still disagree with the decision, you may Appeal the Claim Decision.

Additional information

RCW 51.52.050 (www.leg.wa.gov)
Service of departmental action — Demand for repayment — Reconsideration or appeal
.

RCW 51.52.060 (www.leg.wa.gov)
Notice of appeal — Time — Cross-appeal — Departmental options
.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.