Rates for Workers' Compensation

Proposed 2015 rates for workers' compensation

Proposed 2015 base rates by business type and classification code

Proposed 2015 hourly rates by risk classification code and fund

Proposed 2015 experience rating parameters

2014 rates for workers' compensation

2014 rates by business type and risk classification code

2014 rates by risk classification and fund

2013 rates for workers' compensation

There will be no overall increase in workers’ compensation insurance premiums in 2013. This is the second year in a row that L&I has held overall rates flat.

While there will be no overall rate increase in 2013, individual employers may see their rates go up or down, depending on their recent claims history and changes in the frequency and cost of claims in their industry. The table below lists rates for 345-risk classification. The new rates take effect Jan. 1, 2013. Final rate notices will be mailed to employers in early December, 2012.

2013 rates by business type and risk classification code

2013 rates by risk classification and fund

Additional Rating Parameters for 2013 used to calculate experience rating factors and retrospective premiums.

2012 rates for workers' compensation

There was no general rate increase on average in workers' compensation rates in 2012. In total, 171 risk classes increased and 146 risk classes decreased or stayed the same.

2012 rates by business type and risk classification code

2012 rates by risk classification code and fund

2011 base rates for workers' compensation

L&I announced an average 12% rate increase per hour for 2011. This was equivalent to a 9.7% increase in the rate per $100 of payroll.

Rates by business type and risk classification code

Rates by risk classification code and fund

2010 base rates for workers' compensation

L&I announced an average 7.6% rate increase per hour for 2010. This was equivalent to a 5.5% increase in the rate per $100 of payroll.

These rates are based on the adoption of new rules regarding unassigned occupational disease claims for Retrospective Rating.

Rates by business type and risk classification code

Rates by risk classification code and fund

Historical rates

Previous Years' Rates for Workers' Compensation are available for review.

Rate change history

Contact your account manager with questions

Your account manager's phone number is on your quarterly report.

You can also call 360‑902‑4817 for general information or to be directed to your account manager.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.