Site Alert

WorkerWeb and ProviderWeb online claim filing are down for maintenance until Monday, October 27th. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Claim-Free Discount

How claims affect the Claim-Free Discount

No claims or “medical-only” claims

Businesses with no claims or “medical-only” claims in the experience period qualify for the Claim-Free Discount.

Nearly 75% of all claims are “medical-only” claims where only:

Compensable claims

Businesses with compensable claims in the experience period do not qualify for the Claim-Free Discount.

Compensable claims include those claims for which the following benefits are either paid or are estimated to be paid at a future date:

  • Wage-replacement payments:
    • Time-loss payments: Payments made to a worker to replace wages lost from a work-related injury or disease, certified by a medical provider. Time-loss is not paid for the first 3 days from the date of injury unless the worker is disabled for 14 consecutive days.
    • Loss of earning power: Payments made to workers when they return to work with fewer hours or less wages due to their work-related medical condition.
  • Disability payments:
    • Permanent Partial Disabilities: Payments made to workers whose work-related injury or disease has reached medical stability and resulted in a permanent loss of function or an amputation.
    • Pensions: Payments made to workers who have been deemed permanently and totally disabled.
    • Fatalities: Any payments made when a work-related injury or illness results in an employee’s death.

For the 3 years that the compensable claim remains on your account, all claim costs, including the medical-only claims, are included in calculating your new rate. Because of that, one relatively inexpensive compensable claim can greatly impact your rates.

Claims only stay on your record for the 3-year experience period. When these claims drop off, and you have no other compensable claims, you will again qualify for the discount.

Find out more

Questions?

Call your account manager or
360-902-4817

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.