Learn How a Claim Can Affect Your Rates

Find out how a claim with time-loss or other disability benefits could affect your rate for three years. No light-duty? Consider keeping the employee on salary.

The two examples in the following chart are based on the 2010 workers' compensation rates per hour worked. Each sample has a link to detailed examples.

One time-loss claim can raise your rates
Business type Claim‑free discount After one $5,000 time‑loss claim After one $40,000 time‑loss claim
(Assumes 5 workers) Rate Rate Difference Rate Difference
Convenience grocery store
(Detail for class 6403 example.)
$0.43 $0.47 10% $0.51 19%
Wood frame building construction
(Detail for class 0510 example.)
$2.04 $2.48 22% $2.52 24%

See the Claim-Free Discount page for more information.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.