Certification Test

The certification test is given quarterly. There are 2 parts and applicants must score at least 70% on both parts to become a claims administrator. If either part is not passed an applicant must take the entire test again. Applicants have a maximum of 4 hours to take the test.

The test includes sections on:

  • Claim validity.
  • Wages, Loss of Earning Power and other claim management calculations.
  • Questions on various other issues vital to claim management.

Applicants should bring their own:

  • Pens/pencils.
  • Erasers.

Applicants may also bring:

  • A personal calculator, if preferred (only basic 10-key solar or battery operated will be allowed).
  • A beverage and/or snack.

The department will provide:

  • Test resource materials needed to take the test.
  • Calculators.
  • Scratch paper.

Applicants are allowed to take short breaks at their own convenience. There are vending machines and bathrooms close by the testing room.

To apply to take the test:

Test results will be provided within 2 weeks.

Note: If you don't receive a passing score, you must wait 6 months to retake the test.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.