Claims Administrators

Look up a claims administrator.

Become a claims administrator

The department-approved claims administrator certification is geared towards individuals in lead positions in self-insurance claims administration, for example:

  • Lead workers.
  • Senior claim managers.
  • Trainers.

The department's certification is not designed for entry-level claims administrators. The minimum threshold for testing and certification is 3 years experience managing Washington industrial insurance claims.

Step 1 - Qualify

  • Have a minimum of 3 years of experience in the administration of time-loss claims under Title 51 RCW  (www.leg.wa) working at least an average of 20 hours per week on Washington claims.

    And
  • The experience must have occurred within the 5 years immediately prior to filing your application.

Step 2 - Take and pass the test

After passing the test, you will be designated as a claims administrator for 5 years.

Step 3 - Maintain your status

To maintain your claims administrator status beyond the initial 5-year designation choose either of the following:

  • Retake and pass the self-insurance claims administrator test.

    Or
  • Provide documentation to the department that you have remained employed for a minimum of 3 of the last 5 years in the administration or oversight of claims under Title 51 RCW (www.leg.wa), and meet the continuing education criteria.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.