Chiropractic Consultation Program

This is a second-opinion program in Washington state. Doctors can ask for assistance with diagnosis or treatment planning.

Locate chiropractic consultants

To find a chiropractic consultant, please use our Find a Doctor application, and select United States, then provider type "Chiropractor" and specialty "Chiropractor/Consultant".

Second opinions, what do I need to know?

Prior authorization is not required, but timing can be an issue. The attending doctor should notify the claim manager of this action.

When to get a second opinion ...

Required when:

Optional when:

May not be referred by the attending doctor if:

  • Before 120 days of conservative care have passed
    or
  • A complication, controversy or dispute arises over the treatment of injured worker
    or
  • The insurer requests a consultation exam.
  • The worker's accepted condition presents a diagnostic or therapeutic problem.
  • An independent medical exam (IME) has already been requested by the claim manager
    or
  • Claim reopening is pending
    or
  • Claim is closed.

What is the difference between IMEs and chiropractic consultations?

Service requested

Referral source

Type of exam

Select examiner from

Prior authorization required?

Consultation

Attending doctor.

Second opinion.

Refer to a chiropractic consultant or medical specialist listed in Find a Doctor.

No.

Independent medical exam

L&I claim manager.

IME exam.

Approved IME provider.

Yes. By L&I claim manager.

Applicable Laws (RCW) and Rules (WAC)

WAC 296-20-01002 - Definitions: Consultation examination report.
WAC 296-20-035 - Treatment in cases that remain open beyond 60 days.
WAC 296-20-045 - Consultation requirements.
WAC 296-20-051 - Consultation.
WAC 296-23-195 - Chiropractic Consultations.

Back to top

 

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.