Industrial Insurance Chiropractic Advisory Committee (IICAC)

The Industrial Insurance Chiropractic Advisory Committee (IICAC) was formed by the Washington State Legislature in 2007. Chapter 51.36 RCW authorizes the IICAC to “..advise the department on matters related to the provision of safe, effective, and cost-effective chiropractic treatments for injured workers.”

The IICAC currently:

  • Develops evidence-based trainings and printed or web-based resources for chiropractors to assist them in providing high quality care for injured workers, and
  • May be involved in providing input and review on department policies and guidelines that may impact chiropractic care.


Prior to the 2007 legislation, a precursor committee known as the Chiropractic Advisory Committee (CAC), worked closely with the department for nearly 30 years:

  • Assisting with provider education,
  • Resolving claims problems,
  • Advising on chiropractic quality of care issues,
  • Developing and overseeing the chiropractic consultant and IME training programs, as well as
  • Advising the department on policies related to chiropractic care of injured workers.

CAC members, contributed to, and reviewed many workers’ compensation and department publications to assist doctors in caring for injured workers to avoid long term disability issues.


The Industrial Insurance Chiropractic Advisory Committee has 9 members who practice in Washington state. Members are appointed by the Director who considers nominations submitted by recognized, statewide chiropractic groups such as the Washington State Chiropractic Association. The current IICAC members are:

Michael Dowling, DC (Chair)
William Pratt, DC (Vice-chair)
Robert Baker, DC
Clay Bartness, DC
David Folweiler, DC
Kelly Golob, DC
Lissa Grannis, DC
Ron Wilcox, DC
Alternate: Malcolm Butler, MD.


RCWs, WACs, and Bylaws

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

   © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve