
Anyone who works in the plumbing construction trade must be certified with the 
Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) as a journeyman, residential-specialty, pump-and-
irrigation specialty, limited-volume domestic-pump specialty, or backflow-specialty plumber. 

Individuals learning the plumbing trade must carry trainee certificates. 
L&I administers the plumber certification law, Chapter 18.106 RCW (Revised Code of Washington).

Facts about State Certification for Plumbers

Plumber Classifications
What are the classifications of plumbers in 
Washington State?
n	 Journeyman plumbers are qualified to work in 

all phases of the plumbing construction trade.

n	 Medical Gas endorsements are issued only to 
active journeymen who have completed a 32-hour 
medical-gas training course approved by L&I.

n	 Residential specialty plumbers are limited to 
installation, maintenance, and repair of plumbing 
in single-family dwellings, duplexes and apartment 
buildings that do not exceed three stories.

n	 Pump and Irrigation specialty plumbers perform 
installation, maintenance, and repair of equipment 
that is used to acquire, treat, store, or move water 
suitable for drinking or other domestic purposes, 
including irrigation or to a domestic water 
pumping system.

n	 Limited volume domestic pump specialty 
plumbers perform installation, maintenance, and 
repair of equipment that is used to acquire, treat, 
store, or move water suitable for drinking or 
other domestic purposes on pumping systems not 
exceeding one hundred gallons per minute.

n	 Backflow specialty plumbers are limited to 
maintenance and repair of existing backflow 
prevention assemblies within a building. This 
does not include installing or replacing backflow 
prevention assemblies.

Plumber Certification
How do I become certified to work as a 
plumber? 
You must meet certain qualifications and pass an 
examination, or become certified through mutual 
exchange (reciprocity) agreements with other states. 
For more information about reciprocity, call L&I’s 
Plumber Certification Section at 360-902-5207.

To qualify for examination, you must document your 
work experience according to the requirements of the 
trade. All work experience must be performed under 
the supervision of an appropriately certified plumber. 
To become certified, you must score at least 70% on 
each section of the exam.

Exam Requirements
Trade Requirements

Journeyman 8,000 hours work experience, 
which includes 4,000 hours 
commercial or industrial work

Residential Specialty 6,000 hours work experience

Pump and Irrigation 
Specialty

Two years of practical experience 
working on pumping systems 
exceeding 100 gallons per minute, or 
the equivalent

Limited Volume 
Domestic Pump 
Specialty

One year of practical experience 
working on pumping systems not 
exceeding 100 gallons per minute

Backflow Specialty Must provide a copy of an active 
Backflow Assembly Tester Certification 
from the Washington State Department 
of Health



What is on the journeyman/residential  
specialty exam?
This is a closed book, three-part exam based on 
Washington State’s current plumbing code. It also 
includes water, and waste and vent sizing from 
schematic drawings. The exam provides the Drainage 
Fixture Units Value Table 7-3, Water Supply Fixture 
Units Table 6-5, Fixture Units Table 6-6, and Flushometer 
Fixture Units Table 6-7. No other tables will be provided.

What is on the pump and irrigation/limited-
volume domestic specialty exam?
This exam is based on the National Ground Water 
Association (NGWA) “Voluntary Certification Exam 
Study Guide.” Certified Pump Installers must complete 
the Water Systems – General Exam and must opt for 
either the “K” or “L” exam modules:

n	 NGWA “K” Exam—Water Systems <100 GPM for 
the limited domestic PL 03a certification 

n	 NGWA “L” Exam—Water Systems >100 GPM for 
the pump and irrigation PL 03 certification

What is on the backflow specialty exam?
This exam is made up of questions relating to safety, 
regulation, operation and troubleshooting of backflow 
prevention assemblies. 

Plumber Trainees
Who may supervise plumber trainees on  
the job site?
The following conditions and ratios apply to plumber 
trainers: 

n	 One plumber trainee for every certified journeyman 
plumber installing medical gas. Supervision is 
required 100% of the time while installing medical 
gas.

n	 One plumber trainee for every certified journeyman 
plumber working on a commercial job site. 
Supervision is required a minimum of 75% of the 
time at each separate job site.

n	 Two plumber trainees for every certified residential 
specialty or journeyman plumber working on a 
residential job site. Supervision is required for a 
minimum of 75% of the time at each separate job site.

n	 Two plumbing trainees for every certified domestic 
pump specialty plumber or journeyman plumber 
working on a domestic pump system. Supervision is 
required for a minimum of 75% of the time at each 
separate job site.

n	 Limited-volume domestic pump trainees completing 
720 hours of supervised work may take the limited-
volume domestic pump exam, and if passed, 
trainees may then work unsupervised until the 
remaining 2,000 hours have been met to get the 
limited-volume domestic pump certification.

n	 One backflow trainee for every certified backflow 
specialty plumber working on a commercial job 
site. Supervision is required 100% of the time while 
performing backflow assembly maintenance and 
repair.

n	 Two backflow trainees for every certified backflow 
specialty plumber working on a residential job 
site performing backflow assembly maintenance 
and repair. Supervision is required 100% of the 
time while performing maintenance and repair of 
backflow prevention assemblies.

How should plumber-trainees document  
their hours?
All work experience must be performed under the direct 
supervision of an appropriately certified plumber. Work 
experience must be documented in affidavit form and 
signed by the registered contractor, and the supervising 
plumber’s name and certification number must be listed 
on the form. 

Does a residential/specialty plumber need a 
plumber-trainee card?
Yes, if working on commercial job sites, residential/
specialty plumbers must maintain an active trainee 
card and work under the supervision of a certified 
journeyman plumber. 

NOTE:

Plumber trainee hours obtained in this state will be 
credited only if an active Washington State trainee 
card was in place when the work occurred. See 
Chapter 18.106.070(2) RCW.

 
 
 



Contractor Responsibilities
What are a contractor’s responsibilities when 
performing plumbing work?

n	 Ensure that each person who is performing 
plumbing on the job site has an active plumber or 
trainee certification.

n	 Guarantee that trainees are under the direct 
supervision of a certified plumber and within the 
legal ratio.

n	 If medical gas is being installed, ensure installer has 
an active medical-gas piping endorsement.

n	 If backflow assembly maintenance and repair is 
being performed, ensure the person performing 
the work has an active BAT card and is a certified 
plumber.

n	 Maintain records to verify and attest to trainee 
hours.

Under what circumstances may L&I audit a 
contractor’s records?
L&I may audit a contractor’s records for excessive hours 
or for hours reported: 

n	 For individuals who do not have active trainee 
cards.

n	 Outside of the normal course of the contractor’s 
business.

n	 For improper supervision and ratio. 

Penalties
What are the penalties for violating plumber 
certification/contractor registration 
requirements?
Monetary penalties range from $250 for the first 
infraction and to up to $1,000 for each subsequent 
infraction. Each day an individual works in violation is 
considered a separate infraction. In addition, each job 
site an individual works at in violation is considered a 
separate infraction. 

Advisory Board of Plumbers
What is the Advisory Board of Plumbers?
The Advisory Board of Plumbers was established to 
give citizens a voice in their government and provide a 
means of influencing decisions. It is comprised of two 
journeyman plumbers, one specialty plumber, three 
members who conduct a plumbing business (with at 
least one being engaged in specialty plumbing), and a 
member from the general public who is familiar with 
the business and trade of plumbing. The board meets 
on the third Tuesday of January, April, July and October. 
Meetings are open to the public. 
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8 On the Web: Visit the L&I Web site at: 
www.Lni.wa.gov

Other formats for persons with disabilities are available 
on request. Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, call 360-
902-5797. L&I is an equal opportunity employer.

Applications and Renewals
Where can I obtain applications for plumbers  
and trainees?
L&I’s local offices provide applications for plumbers 
and trainees. Check the blue government pages of 
your telephone book for the office nearest you or see 
the L&I Web site at www.Offices.Lni.wa.gov .

Applications also are available on the L&I Web site at 
www.Plumbers.Lni.wa.gov .

What is required for renewing plumber and 
trainee certificates?
The renewal requirements for each trade are 	
shown below. The fees vary, so please contact your 	
local L&I office for the fee schedule or visit 	
www.Plumbers.Lni.wa.gov , click on Training and 
Continuing Education and then Fees.

Plumber Renewing Requirements

Type of Certificate Renewal Period
L&I-Approved Continuing 

Education
Journeyman or Residential Specialty Every other year.* 16 hours. Must include a minimum of 

4 hours related to electrical safety, 
8 hours of plumbing code, plus 4 
additional hours.

Pump and irrigation/limited volume 
domestic specialty

Every three years.* 24 hours, on both electrical and 
plumbing certifications.

Backflow certification Every other year.* None required

Medical gas Every other year.* Maintain an active journeyman 
certification and submit affidavit 
attesting that (1) brazing was 
performed at least once every six 
months in the previous two years, and 
(2) a review of current medical-gas 
code was completed.

*Renewal must be completed on or before your birth date, and if not, the fee will double. If not completed within 90 days, 
you will have to pay an examination fee and retake the test.

Trainee Annually. Trainees must provide an 
accurate list of employers in the past 
year and the number of hours worked 
for each.

Must complete a minimum of 8 
hours each year and meet the same 
requirements of the trade, as shown 
above for Journeyman or Residential.
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