Changes to workers' compensation rates for 2011

See more More news releases

The Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) today announced a 12 percent average increase in workers' compensation insurance premiums. Average premiums would go up by 6.5 cents per hour worked.

The new rates take effect Jan. 1, 2011, under an emergency rule that is effective for 120 days. L&I will hold public hearings in January to gather comments about the proposed increase before adopting permanent rates. Read the full news release

Public hearings

Two public hearings will be held at 10 a.m. Jan. 4. at the following locations:

  • Tacoma Convention Center
    1500 Broadway, Room 407
    Tacoma
  • CenterPlace Regional Event Center
    Auditorium
    2426 N. Discovery Place
    Spokane Valley

Written comments may be submitted to Ronald Moore, Employer Services Program Manager.

  • Mail:
    Ronald Moore, Employer Services Program Manager
    Department of Labor & Industries
    P. O. Box 44140
    Olympia, WA 98504
  • E-mail: Ronald.Moore@Lni.wa.gov
  • Fax: 360-902-4729

Written comments must be received by 5 p.m. Jan. 4, 2011.

Why propose this change?

This short video shows what is driving costs up and what L&I is doing to keep costs down.

Learn more

Facts about the 2011 rate proposal

Find answers to the most common questions about the proposed rate increase.

2011 proposed base rates by business type and classification code

Look up rates by the frequency and cost of claims in each industry.

L&I Cost Containment Summary

See how L&I is taking steps to rein in costs.

The history of rate changes in Washington state

See the 38-year history of changes to workers' compensation premiums in Washington state.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.