Cholinesterase Monitoring - Employer Info

The handling hour threshold remains at 30 hours

Workers who handle organophosphate or carbamate pesticides, with the signal word “DANGER” or “WARNING” on the label, for 30 or more hours in any 30 day period must participate in the cholinesterase monitoring program, which includes:

  • A discussion with a health care provider.
  • A decision by the worker to have or not to have blood tests.
    • An annual baseline blood test prior to exposure to these pesticides.
    • Periodic blood tests to assess worker exposures to pesticides.
  • Work practice evaluations for significantly depressed cholinesterase levels.
  • Removal from handling of OP & CARB pesticides when recommended by the medical provider.

Employer reporting of handling hours is through the medical provider

Employers continue to report each employee’s handling hours for the above pesticides directly to the medical provider at the time of each periodic test.

Laboratory services

Pathology Associates Medical Laboratories (PAML), 110 W, Cliff Ave, Spokane WA has been selected as the sole laboratory approved to provide cholinesterase testing services under the cholinesterase monitoring program. Employers must verify that the medical provider uses PAML for all cholinesterase laboratory testing.

Employee notification of health care provider recommendations

In 2006 the rule was amended to require employers to obtain a written recommendation from the health care provider for each employee test (incl. baselines) and evaluation and provide a copy of the recommendation to the employee, either directly or through the health care provider, with 5 days of receipt.

L&I Consultation & Compliance Services

WRD 33.27, Cholinesterase Depression (206 KB PDF) sets policy for the provision of consultation and compliance services. Generally employers will be offered consultation services whenever an employee experiences a significant cholinesterase depression. A referral to compliance may be made when multiple employees experience significant cholinesterase depression and the employer declines consultation support, or circumstances indicate safety program deficiencies, e.g. cholinesterase depression clusters or ongoing employee cholinesterase depressions.

Requests for cholinesterase cost reimbursement

Employers may request reimbursement for the reasonable costs of training, recordkeeping, and medical expenses for cholinesterase monitoring by submitting the Cholinesterase Monitoring Reimbursement Request form along with required documentation.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.