Many of our online services are unavailable at this time.
We are working to correct the problem and apologize for the inconvenience.


Service Alert

If there's a state government shutdown due to lack of a 2017 – 2019 Washington budget, many services provided by the Department of Labor & Industries would not be available starting July 1. L&I has a full list of service interruptions should there be a full or partial shutdown.

Verify a Contractor, Tradesperson or Business

Close X   

Tradespeople

Use the Verify tool to view your continuing education and basic trainee classroom credits and check the status of a contractor.

See more. Verify a Contractor, Tradesperson or Business

Continuing education requirements for plumbers

  • Journey Level and Residential Specialty plumbers must complete 16 hours of continuing education within a two-year renewal cycle.
  • Domestic Pump and Pump and Irrigation plumbers must complete 24 hours of continuing education, with a minimum of 12 credits of plumbing or combination classes, within a three-year renewal cycle.
  • Backflow Specialty plumbers have no continuing education classes requirement, but must maintain an active BAT (Backflow Assembly Tester) card to renew their certificate.
  • Plumber trainees must complete 8 of the 16 hours that are required of a Journey Level or Residential Specialty Plumber every year. Required courses must be taken within the renewal cycle. Get more plumber training info here.

Continuing education requirements for electricians

  • Electricians, master electricians and administrators (except those in telecommunications) must complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education credits within a 3-year renewal cycle. Credits must include at least 8 hours of NEC code update and 4 hours of WAC rule update.
  • Domestic Pump and Pump and Irrigation electricians must complete 24 hours of continuing education, with a minimum of 12 credits of plumbing or combination classes, within a 3-year renewal cycle.
  • Electrical trainees must complete 48 hours of basic classroom instruction within a 2-year renewal cycle. Get more electrical training info here.

Class providers: Get your continuing education course approved

 

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve