License Fees — New and Renewal

These fees apply to the process for elevator contractors and elevator mechanics getting licensed or getting their licenses renewed.

Effective April 1, 2014

Elevator Licensing Fees
Type of fee Period Covered by Fee
Fee Amount
Elevator contractor/mechanic application fee (not required for renewal of valid license) Per application
$64.30
Elevator contractor/mechanic examination fee Per application
$193.60
Reciprocity application fee* Per Application
$64.30
Elevator mechanic license 2 years
$129.00
Elevator contractor license 2 years
$129.00
Temporary elevator mechanic license 30 days
$32.00
Elevator mechanic/contractor timely renewal fee** 2 years
$129.00
Elevator mechanic/contractor late renewal fee*** 2 years
$258.30
Training provider application/renewal fee 2 years
$129.00
Continuing education course fee by approved provider**** 1 year
Not applicable
Replacement of any licenses  
$19.20
Refund processing fee  
$38.50

 

* Reciprocity application is only allowed for applicants who are applying for licensing based upon possession of a valid license that was obtained in state(s) with which the department has a reciprocity agreement.

** Renewals will be considered "timely" when the renewal application is received on or prior to the expiration date of the license.

*** Late renewal is for renewal applications received no later than ninety days after the expiration of the licenses. If the application is not received within ninety days from license expiration, the licensee must reapply and pass the competency examination.

**** The fee is paid directly to the continuing education training course provider approved by the department.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.