Site Alert

WorkerWeb and ProviderWeb online claim filing are down for maintenance until Monday, October 27th. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Elevator Civil (Monetary) Penalities

The civil penalty fees for the following offenses involving any kind of elevator or other conveyance are listed below.

See Other and/or Additional Fees page for other and/or additional fees not noted below.

Effective May 1, 2012

Elevator Civil (Monetary) Penalties
Operation of a conveyance without a permit Penalties
  • First violation
$171.20
  • Second violation
$342.60
  • Each additional violation
$500.00
Installation of a conveyance without a permit
  • First violation
$171.20
  • Second violation
$342.60
  • Each additional violation
$500.00
Relocation of a conveyance without a permit
  • First violation
$171.20
  • Second violation
$342.60
  • Each additional violation
$500.00
Alternation of a conveyance without a permit
  • First violation
$171.20
  • Second violation
$342.60
  • Each additional violation
$500.00
Operation of a conveyance for which the department has issued a red tag or has revoked or suspended an operating permit or operation of a decommissioned elevator $500.00
Removal of a red tag from a conveyance $500.00
Failure to comply with a correction notice
  • After 90 days
$114.10
  • After 180 days
$285.40
  • After 270 days
$457.00
  • After 360 days
$500.00
  • Each 30 days after 360 days
$500.00
  • Note: Penalties are cumulative
 
Failure to submit official written notification that all corrections have been completed:
  • After 90 days
$114.10
  • After 180 days
$285.40
  • After 270 days
$457.00
  • After 360 days
$500.00
  • Each 30 days after 360 days
$500.00
  • Note: Penalties are cumulative
 

Failure to notify the department of each accident to a person requiring the services of a physician or resulting in a disability exceeding one day may result in a $500.00 penalty per day.

The conveyance must be removed from service until the department authorizes the operation of the conveyance. This may require an inspection, and the applicable fees will be applied.

$500.00/day
Plus WAC 296-96-01057

Failure to remove the conveyance from service may result in an additional $500.00 penalty per day.

$500.00/day

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.