Plumber

Before applying or renewing online...

... make sure you can meet all of the requirements

  • The fee is $151.90.
  • You must not have any outstanding, unpaid infractions with L&I.
  • If applying for a reciprocal license, please have your active out of state journey level certificate number on hand.Mail a copy of your active journey level card as well as your driver's license to the department.
  • If applying for an examination, verify that all of your hours are on file with the department. Mail any additional affidavits to:

    Department of Labor & Industries
    Plumber Certification Section
    PO Box 44470
    Olympia, WA 98504-4470

Before you apply online, you will need the following:
    • Your Social Security number.
    • We accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express credit cards

      Visa Card

      Mastercard

      Discover

      American Express

      Visa

      MasterCard

      Discover

      American Express

    • Note: We now accept E-Check, a one time withdrawal from your checking account.
What L&I will do:
  • Verify that the following information is on file with the department:
  • Affidavits of Experience.
  • Reciprocal Information.
  • For examinations, mail an examination notice.
  • For reciprocal, once approved, a notice will be mailed requesting an additional pro-rated licensing fee.
Apply online now
  • If you pay by your expiration date, your renewal fee is $121.60.
  • If you are renewing after your expiration date and your renewal is not more than 90 days late, your renewal fee is $243.20.
  • If you pay by your expiration date for your Backflow Plumbers certificate the renewal fee is $83.90.
  • If you are renewing your Backflow Plumbers certificate after your expiration date and your renewal is not more than 90 days late, your renewal fee is $167.80.
  • If your renewal is more than 90 days late, you may not renew and must contact us about retaking your certification exam.
  • If your certificate is suspended for any reason, you may not renew online and you must contact us about reinstating it.
  • You must not have any outstanding, unpaid infractions with L&I or a collection agency.
  • 16 hours of continuing education is required for renewal of journey level or residential specialty plumber certificates. These 16 hours must consist of a minimum of 8 hours code and a minimum of 4 hours IRE and the other 4 hours may be from any category (code, IRE, IRP).
  • Renewal consists of paying the renewal fee and completing the required education. If not completed by your expiration date, late fees or retesting shall apply.
Before you proceed to renew online, you will need the following:
  • Your 12-digit license number.
  • An active license (not suspended or canceled).
  • Required documents on file with the department.
  • We accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express credit cards

    Visa Card

    Mastercard

    Discover

    American Express

    Visa

    MasterCard

    Discover

    American Express

  • Note: We now accept E-Check, a one time withdrawal from your checking account.
Renew online now
You can also get or renew your plumber or reciprocal certificate

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.