Service Alert

In the event of a temporary state government shutdown July 1, many services on the L&I website would remain available to our customers. However, virtually all services involving L&I personnel will not be available. Please view the list of services impacted by a shutdown.

Breaks & Meal Periods

Agricultural workers get rest breaks and meal periods too

What are the rest break and meal period requirements for agricultural workers?

  • One 10-minute paid rest break for each 4 hours worked.
  • An unpaid meal period of at least 30 minutes if working more than 5 hours in a day.
  • One additional 30-minute meal period If working 11 or more hours in a day.

For more detail, see Agricultural Employment Standards - WAC 296-131 (www.Leg.wa.gov)

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

♥  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.