Site Alert

Most of our online systems will be unavailable from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday, November 22, 2014, for scheduled system upgrades. We apologize for any inconvenience.

What hours are teens under 18 allowed to work in non-agricultural jobs?

Check the chart below for the hours 14- through 17-year-olds can work.

Find out how to apply for a variance to these requirements, if necessary.

Note: Minors working in restaurants and retail businesses after 8 p.m. must be supervised by an adult.

Hours and Schedules Minors are Permitted to Work in Non-Agricultural Jobs
  Hours a Day Hours a Week Days a Week Begin Quit
14-15 year-olds
School weeks
3 hours
(8 hours
Sat.-Sun.)
16 hours
6 days
7 a.m.
7 p.m.
Non-school weeks 8 hours 40 hours 6 days 7 a.m. 7 p.m.
(9 p.m. June 1 to
Labor Day)
16-17 year-olds
School weeks 4 hours
(8 hours
Fri.-Sun.)
20 hours
6 days
7 a.m.
10 p.m.
(Midnight Fri.-Sat.)
School weeks with a
special variance
6 hours
(8 hours
Fri.-Sun.)
28 hours 6 days 7 a.m. 10 p.m.
(Midnight Fri.-Sat.)
Non-school weeks 8 hours 48 hours 6 days 5 a.m. Midnight

For more information, see the L&I publication:
Teens at Work: Facts for Employers, Parents and Teens.

For more detail, see L&I Administrative Policy:
Acrobat PDF file School Week and Work Week for Minors (ES.C.4.1) (55 KB PDF)

For more detail, see Washington Administrative Code:
Hours of work for minors (WAC 296-125-027)
Non-agricultural Employment of Minors (WAC 296-125)

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.