Many of our online services are unavailable at this time.
We are working to correct the problem and apologize for the inconvenience.


Service Alert

If there's a state government shutdown due to lack of a 2017 – 2019 Washington budget, many services provided by the Department of Labor & Industries would not be available starting July 1. L&I has a full list of service interruptions should there be a full or partial shutdown.

Wages, Breaks & Meal Periods

Wages, Breaks and Meal Periods for Teen Workers in Non-Agricultural Jobs

  • What is the minimum wage for minor workers?

    The minimum wage for 16- and 17-year-old workers is the same as for adults — $11.00 in 2017. Minors under 16 may be paid 85% ($9.35) of the state minimum wage.

    See information about Washington's current minimum wage.

  • What meal and rest breaks are required for young workers in non-agricultural jobs, like restaurants, grocery stores, health care, etc?

    Teen workers (under age 18) are entitled to an uninterrupted meal break of at least 30 minutes if they work more than 5 hours in a day. They also are entitled to at least a 10-minute paid rest break for each 4 hours worked. They must be allowed a rest period no later than the end of the third hour of the shift.

    Fourteen- and 15-year-old workers may not work more than 4 hours without a 30-minute uninterrupted meal period. This is separate from and in addition to rest breaks. They must also receive a paid rest break of at least 10 minutes for every 2 hours worked. They must have a rest period after 2 hours for every 4 hours of work.


For more detail, see Washington Administrative Code:
Non-agricultural Employment of Minors (WAC 296-125) (app.leg.wa.gov)

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve