Minimum Wage

The Current 2018 Washington Minimum Wage Is $11.50

Washington's minimum wage applies to workers in both agriculture and non-agricultural jobs, although 14- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85% of the minimum wage ($9.78).

Future minimum wage

  • 2019: $12
  • 2020: $13.50

Starting Jan. 1, 2021, minimum wage increases will be calculated by L&I using a formula tied to the rate of inflation (based on the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers - CPI-W (www.bls.gov).

 News release: New Year brings with it higher minimum wage and paid sick leave for Washington workers.

 Print an announcement of the 2018 minimum wage (40 KB PDF).

 See a history of Washington State's minimum wage by year.

 

More about Washington's minimum wage

Employers with workers who work in certain local jurisdictions may be subject to a higher minimum wage than the state rate. See information on local minimum wage rates at the links below.

Get the required poster

All employers are required to post in their workplace the Your Rights as a Worker (F700-074-909) poster, which provides information about the minimum wage, paid sick leave requirements, and other worker rights. This poster is available at no cost from L&I.

More information regarding Washington's wage and hour laws is available at Lni.wa.gov/Wages. Employers and workers also may call 360-902-5316 or 1-866-219-7321.

Common questions about minimum wage

Expand/collapse all

More about Washington's minimum wage

Paying certain workers less than minimum wage.

Minimum wage laws and rules

L&I administrative policies

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve