Frequently Asked Questions: Get or Renew an Electrical License Online

Q. Which electrical licenses can be renewed online?
A.  All of the following:

  • Electrical contractor
  • Electrical administrator
  • Electrician
  • Electrical trainee

Q. How will I pay for my renewal online?
A. You may use the following credit cards (we cannot take debit cards):

  • MasterCard
  • Visa

Q. How long will I have to wait to get my new license?
A. Electrical trainees should receive their license within 1-2 weeks.  Electrical contractors, electrical administrators, and electricians should receive either a letter regarding the action taken by the department or the new license within 30 days.

Q. What if I have a new bond or insurance. Can I still renew online?
A. The new bond or insurance must be on file with the department before you can renew online.

Q. Can I add my continuing-education credits online?

A. No. your continuing-education certificates of completion must be mailed to the Electrical Program at PO Box 44460, Olympia, WA, 98504-4460 or faxed to 360-902-5296.  You can submit your renewal online and we will activate your certificate upon receipt and approval of the continuing-education credits.

Q. What if I attempt to renew on the expiration date of the certificate and there is a problem with the system?  Will I have to pay the penalty?
A. If you experience problems with the QuickCards system and are unable to renew your certificate, contact the electrical licensing unit immediately at 360-902-5269 to make arrangements for renewal.

Q. Can I submit affidavits of experience through QuickCards?
A. No, the original affidavits of experience must be mailed within 30 days to the Electrical Program at PO Box 44460, Olympia, WA, 98504-4460 for review.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

   © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve