L&I News

See more More news releases

Nov. 20, 1998

Minimum wage increases to $5.70 per hour Jan. 1

TUMWATER - Workers in Washington state will receive a minimum wage increase Jan. 1, 1999 to $5.70 per hour and again Jan. 1, 2000 to $6.50.

The increase is the result of initiative 688, approved by voters Nov. 3 by 66 percent.

The initiative applies to workers 18 and older. Sixteen and 17-year-olds also will receive the raise under a rule that stipulates they earn the same minimum wage as adults (Washington Administrative Code 296-125-043).  Workers under 16 can receive no less than 85 percent of the new adult minimum wage and may also come under the federal minimum wage guidelines.

The initiative also authorizes the Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) to adjust the minimum wage by the rate of inflation every year beginning in 2001.

A poster with the new minimum wage requirements is available from any L&I service location.

###

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.