L&I News

See more More news releases

Thursday, December 20, 2001

Minimum wage in Washington state goes to $6.90 January 1

TUMWATER - Workers earning minimum wage in Washington will make $6.90 per hour starting January 1, 2002, an 18-cents-an-hour increase over the current minimum wage of $6.72.

The new wage applies to workers 16 and older, in both agricultural and non-agricultural jobs.

The Department of Labor & Industries recalculates the state minimum wage each year as a result of an initiative approved by voters in 1998. The initiative ties the minimum wage to changes in the federal Consumer Price Index for urban wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W).

For more information, visit the employment standards page for minimum wage.

###

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.