L&I News

See more More news releases

Thursday, December 26, 2002

Minimum wage in Washington state goes to $7.01 Jan. 1

TUMWATER - Workers earning minimum wage in Washington will make $7.01 per hour starting Jan. 1, 2003, an 11-cents-an-hour increase over the current minimum wage of $6.90.

The new wage applies to workers in both agricultural and nonagricultural jobs. Fourteen- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85 percent of the adult minimum wage.

The Department of Labor & Industries recalculates the state minimum wage each year as a result of an initiative approved by voters in 1998. The initiative ties the minimum wage to changes in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W).

For more information, go to L&I's web site for minimum wage.

###

NOTE TO EDITORS: We issued a news release Sept. 30 on the new minimum wage. That release, which has more background information, is available at http://www.lni.wa.gov/news/2002/pr020930a.htm. Today's news release is just a reminder of the coming wage-rate change. For more information, contact Steve Pierce, L&I Public Affairs manager, at 360-902-5412 or piet235@LNI.wa.gov.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.