L&I News

See more More news releases

Dec. 28, 2005

New minimum wage takes effect Jan. 1

TUMWATER — Washington's minimum wage increases 28 cents to $7.63 an hour beginning Jan. 1, 2006.

The Department of Labor & Industries recalculates the state's minimum wage each year in September as required by Initiative 688, which Washington state voters approved in 1998. The initiative requires the state to adjust the minimum wage according to the change in the federal "CPI-W," which is a national index covering the cost of goods and services needed for day-to-day living. That index rose 3.8 percent during the 12 months ending Aug. 31, 2005.

Washington's minimum wage applies to workers in both agricultural and non-agricultural jobs, although 14- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85 percent of the adult minimum wage, or $6.49 an hour.

Free minimum wage and worker rights posters are free from any L&I office or by calling 1-866-219-7321 or downloading from the L&I web site at www.LNI.wa.gov/IPUB/101-054-000.asp.

For media inforamtion: Elaine Fischer, L&I Public Affairs, 360-902-5413, nele235@LNI.wa.gov

Radio broadcast version (:30)
The Department of Labor & Industries says the state’s minimum wage will increase by 28 cents to $7.63 an hour starting January 1st, 2006.

The state recalculates the wage each September as required by an initiative passed by voters seven years ago.

The initiative requires the state to adjust the minimum wage based on the federal “CPI-W,” which is a national index covering the cost of goods and services needed for day-to-day living. That index rose three-point-eight percent (3.8%) during the 12 months ending August 31st.

You can find more information at “Wages.LNI.wa.gov.”


End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.