L&I News

See more More news releases

L&I proposes 12 percent workers' compensation rate increase for 2011

TUMWATER — The Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) today announced a 12 percent average increase in workers’ compensation insurance premiums. Average premiums would go up by 6.5 cents per hour worked.

The new rates take effect Jan. 1, 2011, under an emergency rule that is effective for 120 days. L&I will hold public hearings in January to gather comments about the proposed increase before adopting permanent rates.

Earlier this year, the Governor asked L&I Director Judy Schurke to convene a business and labor workgroup to recommend improvements to the state’s workers’ compensation system.

“In the meantime, we can’t ignore the fact that the severe, persistent recession has increased workers’ comp claims costs. We’re able to hold down the rate increase to 12 percent largely because L&I has aggressively cut costs, including our own budget, by over $200 million,” Schurke said.

Every year in Washington, more than 100,000 claims are filed for medical costs and lost wages due to work-related injuries, illnesses and deaths. Each year, L&I must review premium rates and make adjustments to cover the anticipated costs of claims that will be filed in the next year.

“We’ve taken many steps to reduce costs in our claims-management process, such as keeping prescription drug costs to less than half of the national average. But it isn’t enough to overcome the negative impact of the economy,” Schurke added.

The same economic factors that affect workers’ compensation insurers nationwide are impacting Washington’s State Fund:

  • Injured workers are staying on benefits longer because there are fewer jobs.
  • Less money is coming into the system because of fewer work hours.
  • Medical costs and wages are up.
  • Investment earnings are down.

The increase is an average for all Washington employers. Individual employers could see their rates go up or down, depending on their recent claims history and any changes in the frequency and cost of claims in their industry. L&I has published a rate table online and will soon send all employers a rate notice.

Washington is the only state where workers pay a substantial portion of premiums, about 24 percent of the 2011 proposed rate.

Public hearings on the proposed rates will be held in Spokane and Tacoma on Jan. 4, 2011.

For information, a video and Q&A are available on L&I’s website.

# # #

For media information: Elaine Fischer, 360-902-5413 or visit the L&I News and Media Center.

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.