News | Communication Services, 360-902-5400 - PublicAffairs@Lni.wa.gov

New Washington State minimum wage takes effect Jan. 1, 2014

See more More news releases

December 31, 2013

Tumwater – Washington's minimum wage will increase to $9.32 per hour beginning January 1, 2014, as announced in September by the Department of Labor & Industries (L&I).

The 13-cent-per-hour increase, from $9.19 to $9.32 an hour, reflects a 1.455 percent increase in the Consumer Price Index between September 2012 and August 2013 for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W).

L&I uses this annual change in the federal CPI to calculate the state's minimum wage each year, as required by Initiative 688, approved by Washington voters in 1998.

The CPI-W measures average price changes for goods and services purchased by urban wage earners and clerical workers. The goods and services it monitors include basic living costs such as food, clothing, shelter, fuels and services such as doctor visits.

Washington is one of 10 states that adjust the minimum wage based on inflation and the CPI. The others are Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon and Vermont.

Washington has the highest minimum wage, followed by Oregon, where the minimum wage will rise on Jan. 1 by 15 cents, to $9.10 per hour.

Washington's minimum wage applies to workers in both agricultural and non-agricultural jobs, although 14- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85 percent of the adult minimum wage, or $7.92 per hour in 2014.

More information on Washington's minimum wage is available at Wages.Lni.wa.gov. Employers and workers also may call 360-902-5316 or 1-866-219-7321.

###

For media information: Dana Botka, 360-902-5408, or Elaine Fischer, 360-902-5413.

Connect with L&I: Facebook (facebook.com/laborandindustries) and Twitter (twitter.com/lniwa).

Broadcast version:
The Department of Labor and Industries says the state's minimum wage will increase on Wednesday, January 1st by 13 cents, to $9.32 an hour. L&I announced the increase last September when the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics announced a one-point-four-five-five-percent (1.455%) increase in the Consumer Price Index.  An initiative passed by voters in 1998 requires L&I to annually adjust the minimum wage based on changes in the index, which reflects the cost of goods and services needed for day-to-day living. You can find more information at Wages dot Lni dot wa dot gov

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.