
 

 

PROPOSED RULE MAKING 
CR-102 (June 2004) 
 (Implements RCW 34.05.320) 

Do NOT use for expedited rule making 
Agency:  Department of Labor and Industries 

 Preproposal Statement of Inquiry was filed as WSR 10-10-106 ; or 

 Expedited Rule Making--Proposed notice was filed as WSR           ; or 

 Proposal is exempt under RCW 34.05.310(4). 

 Original Notice 

 Supplemental Notice to WSR            

 Continuance of WSR            

Title of rule and other identifying information: WAC 296-15-225 Self-insurance second injury fund assessment. 

 

Chapter 296-15 WAC governs employers who are permitted to self-insure their workers’ compensation obligation pursuant to Title 51 

RCW.  The department is proposing a change to WAC 296-15-225, which provides the calculations used to determine the individual 

self-insured employer’s second injury fund experience rating and assessment rate. 

 

Hearing location(s):  
Department of Labor & Industries 

Room S119 

7273 Linderson Way SW 

Tumwater, Washington 98501-5414 

Submit written comments to: 
Name: Margaret Conley 

Address:  P.O. Box 44890 

                  Olympia, WA  98504-4890 

e-mail  Mcgm235@Lni.wa.gov 

fax      (360)902-6977     by (date) September 8, 2010, 5:00 pm 

Date: September 8, 2010 Time: 1:30 pm 
Assistance for persons with disabilities:   Contact  

Margaret Conley by August 25, 2010 

TTY (800)833-6388  or (360)902-6723 

 
Date of intended adoption:    October 5, 2010 

(Note:  This is NOT the effective date) 

Purpose of the proposal and its anticipated effects, including any changes in existing rules:  
This proposal will modify WAC 296-15-225 Self-insurance second injury fund assessment.  The current rule indicates that the 
department will experience rate 50 percent of the second injury fund assessment charged against individual self-insured employers.  
The modification will require the department to experience rate 100 percent of the second injury fund assessment.  The change will 
affect the final assessment rate for each self-insurer, but it will not affect how their experience rating is calculated, or the overall amount 
collected from all self-insured employers for the second injury fund. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Reasons supporting proposal:  The Washington Self-Insurers Association supports this change.   

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 51.44.040 Statute being implemented: RCW 51.44.040 

 

Is rule necessary because of a: 

 Federal Law? 
 Federal Court Decision? 
 State Court Decision? 

If yes, CITATION: 

      

  Yes 

  Yes 

  Yes 

  No 

  No 
  No 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 

 

DATE 

August 4, 2010 

NAME (type or print) 

Judy Schurke 

SIGNATURE   

 
 

TITLE 

Director 

(COMPLETE REVERSE SIDE) 



Agency comments or recommendations, if any, as to statutory language, implementation, enforcement, and fiscal 
matters: 
      
 

 

Name of proponent: Department of Labor and Industries 
 

 Private 

 Public 

 Governmental 

Name of agency personnel responsible for:   

 Name Office Location Phone 

Drafting............... AnnaLisa Gellermann 243 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater, WA  98501 (360)  902-6907 

Implementation.... AnnaLisa Gellermann 243 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater, WA  98501 (360)  902-6907 

Enforcement.......... AnnaLisa Gellermann 243 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater, WA  98501 (360)  902-6907 

Has a small business economic impact statement been prepared under chapter 19.85 RCW? 

  
  Yes.  Attach copy of small business economic impact statement. 
 
 A copy of the statement may be obtained by contacting: 
   Name:       

   Address:       

         

         

         

 phone  (    )                 

 fax        (    )                

 e-mail                               
 

  No.  Explain why no statement was prepared. 
Chapter 296-15 WAC applies only to businesses that are certified to self-insure in Washington State.  Per RCW 19.85.020 (1), a business 

must have fifty or fewer employees to qualify as a small business under the Regulatory Fairness Act.  The department reviewed the 

number of worker hours reported by each employer currently certified to self-insure, and no self-insured business has fewer than fifty 

employees.  Therefore, no small business economic impact statement is required. 

Is a cost-benefit analysis required under RCW 34.05.328? 
 
  Yes     A preliminary cost-benefit analysis may be obtained by contacting: 
   Name:       

   Address:       

         

         

         

 phone  (    )                 

 fax        (    )                

                  e-mail                              

 

  No: Please explain:       

WAC 296-15-225 describes a new method of calculating individual employers’ contributions to the preexisting self-insurance second 

injury fund assessment.  Under the new methods an employer’s assessment for the second injury fund might increase, decrease or stay the 

same.  The rule does not change the methods of calculating the total amount of the assessment required to sustain the self-insured second 

injury fund.  Therefore, this rule change does not represent an increased cost to the business community as a whole. 

 


