Site Alert

Many of our online services may be unavailable between 7 a.m. and Midnight on December 3 for system upgrades. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Minimum Wage

The 2016 Washington minimum wage is $9.47.

Washington's minimum wage applies to workers in both agriculture and non-agricultural jobs, although 14- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85% of the minimum wage ($8.05).

Washington's minimum wage will increase $1.53 to $11.00 an hour beginning Jan. 1, 2017, the Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) announced today.

 

 Read the December 1, 2016, news release.

 Print an announcement of the 2017 minimum wage (40 KB PDF)   (en Español).

 See a History of Washington State's Minimum Wage by year.

Required poster

Employers are required to post the Your Rights as a Worker (F700-074-909) poster, which provides information about the minimum wage and other topics. This poster is available at no cost from L&I. (A separate minimum wage poster is no longer required.)

More information regarding Washington's wage and hour laws is available at Lni.wa.gov/Wages. Employers and workers also may call 360-902-5316 or 1-866-219-7321.

Common questions about minimum wage

Expand/collapse all

More about Washington's minimum wage


Minimum wage laws and rules

L&I administrative policies

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

  © Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.

Help us improve