Site Alert

WorkerWeb and ProviderWeb online claim filing are down for maintenance until Monday, October 27th. We apologize for any inconvenience.

History of Washington Minimum Wage

These are the changes by year that have been made to the Washington State minimum wage since 1961.

Initiative 688, approved by Washington voters in 1998, requires L&I to make a cost-of-living adjustment to the minimum wage each year based on the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W).

See the Minimum Wage page for more information, and to find out why it changes.

History of Minimum Wage in Washington State
Effective date Minimum wage per hour
January 1, 2014 $9.32
January 1, 2013 $9.19
January 1, 2012 $9.04
January 1, 2011 $8.67
January 1, 2010 $8.55
January 1, 2009 $8.55
January 1, 2008 $8.07
January 1, 2007 $7.93
January 1, 2006 $7.63
January 1, 2005 $7.35
January 1, 2004 $7.16
January 1, 2003 $7.01
January 1, 2002 $6.90
January 1, 2001 $6.72
January 1, 2000 $6.50
January 1, 1999 $5.70
(September 1, 1997)
$5.15
(Federal minimum wage change)
January 1, 1994 $4.90
January 1, 1990 $4.25
January 1, 1989 $3.85
January 1, 1976 $2.30
September 1, 1975 $2.00
January 1, 1974 $1.80
January 1, 1968 $1.60
January 1, 1962 $1.25
June 30, 1961 $1.15

End of main content, page footer follows.

Access Washington official state portal

© Washington State Dept. of Labor & Industries. Use of this site is subject to the laws of the state of Washington.