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Overview of L&I Wage Complaint Process
 Individual worker complaints, L&I required to investigate all complaints. 
 L&I to complete investigations within 60 days, can be extended for good cause.
 L&I may assess a civil penalty for the employer:

− Employer violation was “willful”
 knowing and intentional action that is neither accidental nor the result of a bona fide 

dispute, as evaluated under the standards applicable to wage payment violations under 
RCW 49.52.050(2).

− Not less than $1,000 or 10% of the total amount of unpaid wages, whichever is 
greater.

− L&I must waive if the employer is not a repeat willful violator and they pay all 
wages and interest owed within 10 days of the receipt of the Notice of Violation

− L&I can waive or reduce if employer paid all wages and interest owed
− Penalties deposited in the Supplemental Pension Fund 
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Overview of L&I Wage Complaint 
Process

 Statute directs L&I to complete wage complaint investigations within 60 
days. 
− May be extended for good cause. 

 Data on time to complete.
− Complete is inspection is resolved or citation is issued. 

 Otherwise resolved
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L&I Complaint Process Flow 





Why Start with This?

Viability of Wage 
Recovery Solutions 

Depends on the Ability 
to Collect Unpaid Wages

Avoiding Additional 
Pressure on State 

Funding
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Deterrence – Two Ways to Get 
There

Probability 
of 
Consequence

Magnitude 
of 
Consequence

Magnitude 
of 
Consequence

Probability 
of 
Consequence

Wage Payment 
Act

See Daniel Galvin, Deterring Wage Theft: Alt-Labor, State Politics, and the Policy Determinants of Minimum Wage Compliance, 14 PERSPS. ON POL. 
324, 339 (2016); Nicole Hallett, The Problem of Wage Theft, 37 YALE L. & POL’Y REV. 93, 136 (2018) 



WA Collection Tools - Wage 
Payment Act

Warrants and Liens

Garnishment

"Hold and Deliver"

“Hold and Deliver” Financial Institution

Department Civil Action

Successor Liability

Reciprocal Enforcement with Other States



Analogous Collection Tools in Other 
States

Warrants and Liens
• Some states have cap on recovery 

• Wisconsin - $3,000
• Procedural rules vary

• Alaska – first priority if filed within 90 days
• New Hampshire - final order is a lien on property in 
the state for 3 years.

Civil Actions
• Most states allow civil actions, but there are procedural 
differences.

• Arizona – recovery of more than $5,000 requires civil 
action; eligible for treble damages

Basic Commonalities
• Administrative Hearings 
• Taking Assignment
• Collecting wages, interest, and penalties.



Different Collection Tools in Other 
States

Stop Order
• Bond required to conduct business if final judgment is unpaid
• California, Hawaii, New York

Business License Suspended/Denied
• Washington, D.C. – Business license suspended for noncompliance, 

denied for willful violation

Collections Incentives
• Fines

• Colorado compliance fines
• Washington, D.C. – willful vs. negligent violations

• Criminal Charges
• Felony charges - Colorado, Illinois, and New York
• Imprisonment – Alaska, New York
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