
Fact Sheet:  

Employing Children Under Age 14
Requirements for both agricultural and non-agricultural jobs

This fact sheet provides the information you as 
an employer need to have to hire children under 
age 14. Since the minimum legal age to work 
in Washington State is 14 years old, you must 
obtain permission from a superior court judge in 
the county where the minor lives, among other 
requirements. There are a few exceptions.

The requirements in this fact sheet 
do not apply to:

	� Agricultural work or family farms. 
12–13 year-olds can hand-harvest berries, 
bulbs, cucumbers, and spinach during 
non-school weeks. Immediate family 
members of farm owners are exempt from 
age requirements and child labor laws when 
working on their family farm.

	� Theatrical work, including actors or 
performers in film, video, audio, or theatrical 
productions. Employers must apply for a 
theatrical variance from L&I if the minor 
needs to work more than the allowed hours or 
during school hours.

	� Soccer referees. See: Sports Teams and Youth 
Workers, Publication F700-130-909.

	� State, local, and tribal entities.

	� Casual laborers, newspaper carriers, and 
volunteers. Casual labor examples include 
babysitting, raking leaves, etc.

Requirements
All businesses, not otherwise exempted above, who 
are hiring minors under 14 must have:

	� Superior court approval

	� A completed parent/school or summer 
authorization form

	� A minor work permit

	� Proof of the minor’s age on file

How to get superior court permission

You must get permission from a superior court 
judge in the county where the child lives. Check 
with that court regarding its procedures and filing 
fees. To file with the court, submit the following 
forms (contained in this packet) along with any 
court-required fees:

a.	Employer Petition to the Court

b.	Court Form Granting Permission

Parent/School or Summer Authorization

Once you have signed permission from the court, 
send a copy of it with a completed Parent/School 
Authorization form or Parent Authorization for 
Summer Work to:

	� TeenSafety@Lni.wa.gov, or

	� Employment Standards Program/
Youth Employment 
Department of Labor & Industries 
PO Box 44510 
Olympia WA  98504-4510

Upon request, foreign language support and formats for persons 
with disabilities are available. Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, 
call 711. L&I is an equal opportunity employer.

mailto:TeenSafety@Lni.wa.gov


Get a minor work permit

Before you hire a minor under 14, you must have 
and post a current minor work permit.

If you don’t have a minor work permit, get a minor 
work permit endorsement on your Washington 
business license.

If your business already has a minor work permit, 
you must update it with L&I if it does not include an 
endorsement to hire employees under 14.

Proof of minor’s age

You must keep proof of the minor’s age on file at the 
location where the youth is employed. Proof of age 
can include a copy of the youth’s birth certificate or 
similar document. We also accept:

	� Passport

	� Notarized statement from a parent

	� Baptismal record

Remember

Once you have obtained and posted your permit, 
remember these important requirements:

	� Employers must pay workers under the age 
of 16 at least 85% of the state’s minimum wage.

	� Employers must carry workers’ compensation 
insurance on all employees regardless of age.

	� Regulations involving the hours of work, 
meal and rest periods, and prohibited duties 
listed for youth under the age of 16 apply. 
See www.Lni.wa.gov/TeenWorkers .

Any Questions?
Contact the Youth Employment unit at L&I:

	� Toll Free: 1-866-219-7321

	� Email: TeenSafety@Lni.wa.gov

Related resources and forms
	� RCW 26.28.060

	� WAC 296-125-018

	� Employer’s Petition to the Court

	� Court Form Granting Permission

	� Parent/School Authorization (F700-002-000)

	� Parent Authorization for Summer Work (F700-168-000)

PUBLICATION F700-118-000 [04-2019]

http://www.Lni.wa.gov/TeenWorkers
mailto:TeenSafety@Lni.wa.gov
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Employer Petition to the Court 
In the Superior Court for the State of Washington 

For _____________________ County 
 
In RE:  No.  
 

Employer’s Petition for Permission to 
Employ Minors Under 14 

 
 
Print Minor’s Name 

 
 
 requests permission  

Name of Company  
 
to employ the above-named minor(s) to work in   
 Type of Business (e.g. retail, hospitality, etc.) 

 
This required petition is made after review of L&I publication, “Employing Children Under Age 
14.” (RCW 26.28.060) 
 
Address Where Minor Will Be Working: 
 
 

 
List of duties to be performed by the minor(s): 
(NOTE: A list of prohibited duties is on the back of this form.) 
 
 
 

 
Presented By: 
 
     
Print Name of Party or Lawyer/WSBA 
No. 

 Signature of Party or Lawyer  Date 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=26.28.060
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Washington laws prohibit minors in certain jobs from performing duties below 
 
Non-agricultural jobs 
Minors under 18 cannot perform these duties: 

• drive motor vehicles regularly, only 17 year olds may occasionally drive on public roadways 
• all work in mining, explosives and in or about boiler or engine rooms  
• working around, operating, repairing or cleaning earth-moving machines, hoisting apparatus, cranes, or 

other heavy equipment 
• work involving potential exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiation 
• roofing, logging, and sawmill work 
• wrecking, demolition, excavations, and shipbreaking operations 
• any work with possible exposure to blood borne pathogens, radioactive and hazardous substances  
• working at heights greater than 10 feet off the ground or floor level 
• all work in preparing meats for sale, unless they do the work away from meat-cutting and preparation 

areas 
• in the service industry: working alone past 8 p.m. without an adult employee on the premises at all 

times 
• working with power-driven woodworking machines and metal forming, punching, and shearing 

machines 
• power-driven bakery machines or food slicers 
• power-driven paper-products machines and circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears 

 
Minors under 16 cannot perform these duties: 

• cooking, baking, and operating or cleaning power-driven food slicers and grinders 
• operating or working in near any power-driven machinery 
• working in transportation, warehouse and storage, communications and public utilities, or construction 
• loading or unloading goods from trucks or conveyors and work above ground or floor level 
• maintenance or repair in gas stations, retail, and food service 
• work in manufacturing or processing 

 
Agricultural jobs 
Minors under 18 cannot perform these duties: 

• handling dangerous pesticides, blasting agents or transporting, transferring, or applying anhydrous 
ammonia 

• work involving wrecking, demolition, roofing, and mechanical excavation 
• work involving power driven woodworking, metal forming, punching, and shearing machines 

 
Minors under 16 cannot perform these duties: 

• operating tractors over 20PTO horsepower 
• operating grain combine, hay mower, hay baler, crop dryer, and other farm equipment (WAC 296-131-

125(1)) 
 

• working on a farm in yard, pen, or stall with a bull or stud horse you maintain for breeding purposes 
• driving a bus, truck, automobile when transporting passengers, or riding on a tractor as a passenger or 

helper 
 
These rules are not all-inclusive. For more information, see www.Lni.wa.gov/TeenWorkers or call 866-219-
7321. 
 
References:  
WAC 296-125-030, WAC 296-125-033, WAC 296-131-125(2), WAC 296-131-125(1) 

http://www.lni.wa.gov/TeenWorkers
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Court Form Granting Permission 
In the Superior Court for the State of Washington 

For _____________________ County 
In RE: No. 

Permission to Employ Minors Under 14 
Print Minor’s Name 

I. Basis
This matter came before the court on the Employer’s Petition for Permission to Employ Minors 
Under 14, based on RCW 26.28.060, filed by the company named below. The court reviewed the 
petition, the fact sheet, and testimony, if any, and: 

II. Order
Orders that: 
1. is authorized to employ 

Name of Company 

in their business. 
Minor’s Name 

2. During the course of employment,
Name of Company

shall comply with all other applicable rules and regulations regarding the employment of
minors under WAC 296-125 and WAC 296-131.

3. A copy of this permission must be provided to Labor & Industries to complete the process for
hiring this minor.

Address Where Minor Will Be Working: 

Judge’s Signature Date 

Presented By: 

Print Name of Party or Lawyer/WSBA No. Signature of Party or Lawyer Date 

Court Seal 


	Type of Business (e: 
	g: 
	 retail, hospitality, etc: 
	): 



	List of duties to be performed by the minor(s): 
	County Where Petition Is Requested: 
	Print Minor's Name: 
	Petition Number: 
	Name of Company: 
	Minor's Name: 
	Address Where Minor Will Be Working: 
	Print Name of Party or Lawyer/WSBA: 
	Signature Date: 


