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RCW 51.12.010

 States “This title shall be liberally construed for the 

purpose of reducing to a minimum the suffering and 

economic loss arising from injuries and/or death 

occurring in the course of employment”.
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RCW 51.08.178

 Intent is to ensure that wages are computed in a fair and 

equitable manner.

 Contains instructions for how to calculate wages.

− Outlines when and how to include overtime in calculations.

− Defines other types of compensation included in wages 

(housing/board, tips, etc.)

 Employer’s contribution to health care benefits is also 

considered wages.
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Wages at the Time of Injury

 Time-Loss compensation calculations are based on the 

wages the injured worker was receiving at the time of 

injury.  These wages must include all employment and 

represent the wage the worker was earning when 

injured.
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Other Compensation

 Wages may include types of compensation beyond 

those listed in RCW 51.08.178 and WAC 296-14-522.

− Commissions

− Longevity pay

− Clothing/food allowance

 Benefits not essential to worker’s life are not included 

(contributions to retirement, trust fund, etc.)
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Other Compensation (continued)

 Compensation that is not taxable should not be   

included 

 Housing, fuel, and food may be included if they are 

taxable

 Food and lodging during travel are not included
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Subsection 1

 Also known as “regular and continuous” employment.

 Most workers fit under subsection (1). 

 Applies to workers who:

− Are paid a monthly salary, or

− Have a regular and continuous work schedule.

 Under Sub (1), overtime is included at base rate of pay.



Washington State Department of Labor & Industries 9

Monthly Salary

 If the worker has fixed monthly salary, use this amount 

for the gross monthly wage.

 If the worker is eligible for overtime, calculate separately 

using averaging hours per day or per month.
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Regularly Scheduled

 Calculate wages based on hours worked per day and 

days worked per week.

 Use formula given in the statute:

− $15.50 per hour x 8 hours per day x 22 days per month = 

$2,728 per month.
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Regularly Scheduled
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Representative Period and Averaging Hours

 When the worker’s schedule varies, average the 

worker’s hours, not the wages.

 Hours paid for vacation, sick leave, holidays, etc. should 

be included in total hours.

 Overtime hours are only included if there is a pattern of 

overtime worked.
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Representative Period & Averaging Hours

 Default representative period is 3 months prior to DOI.

− One month is considered a consecutive calendar month

− Example: February 14 – March 13 = 28 days

− March 18 – April 17 = 31 days 

 Determine how the worker is paid:

− Monthly: use 3 months

− Semi-monthly: use 6 pay periods

− Bi-Weekly: use 6.5 pay periods

− Weekly: use 13 pay periods



Washington State Department of Labor & Industries 14

Averaging Hours Per Day

 Use if the worker has a set number of days per week, 

but daily hours vary.

 Use total hours in representative period and divide by 

the number of days worked.

 Multiply daily wage by appropriate number of days per 

month.
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Averaging Hours Per Month

 Use when the worker doesn’t work a set number of days 

OR hours.

 Use total hours in representative period and 

divide by the number of months.

 Multiply monthly hours by hourly pay rate.
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Multiple Rate of Pay

 Average hours per month for each rate of pay, then 

multiply by the applicable hourly rate.

 Add totals from each rate of pay to find total gross 

monthly wage.

 Include overtime in each rate separately, not combined.
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Dairy And Agriculture Workers

 Dairy workers became entitled to overtime wages 

07/25/2021 per case law. 

 Extends overtime rights to all agricultural workers by 

removing the agricultural exemption.

 Agricultural workers, including piece-rate workers, must 

earn at least the state minimum wage. 

 Currently and moving forward, overtime pay must be at 

least 1.5 times the employee’s regular rate of pay. 
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Agriculture Workers

 Wage changes for Agriculture, or non-dairy, workers will 

become effective January 1, 2022

 RCW 49.46.130 (6) incrementally reduces the number of 

hours employees need to work in a week before they’re 

entitled to overtime. 

 Beginning:

− Jan. 1, 2023, the threshold will be 48 hours

− Jan. 1, 2024, the threshold will be 40 hours
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Fred Meyer Inc. v. Shearer (2000)

 Shift differential is not overtime, even if paid at the same 

rate.

− Considered additional compensation for working undesirable 

hours.

− May still be listed as overtime (OT) on payroll records.

 Hours should be calculated at the full rate of pay.
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Bundling

 If any rate of pay does not equal at least 8 hours per 

month, the hours can be rolled (bundled) into the next 

highest rate.

− Rates are considered “minimally worked hours.”

 If you choose to bundle one rate, you must bundle them 

all.
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Minor Variations

 10% or less variation between hours worked and hours 

scheduled.

 BIIA Significant decision: In re Maggie Stedman (2010)

− “Minor variations in hours worked should be considered self-

correcting rather than representative of a change in full-time 

status.”

 Used for regularly-scheduled employees if has a set 

schedule but does not always work all scheduled hours.
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Minor Variation Worksheet
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Multiple Employers

 If worker has another job, the SIE must attempt to 

obtain wage info for other employers.

– Letter to worker is sufficient.

 Each job must be calculated separately on SIF-5A.
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Knowledge Check
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What RCW governs wages?

RCW 51.08.178
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Rebecca worked as a barista in a small coffee 

stand when she was injured. Should the tips be 

included in her wage calculation?

Only if they are taxed
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Under subsection 1, overtime hours are:

Included only when there is a pattern of 

overtime
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If a worker has more than one paying job, the 

additional job(s) wages are:

Always included



Mia stated on the SIF-2 she works 8 hours per day 5 days per week earning 
$18.00 per hour.  The employer provided an SIF-5A indicating total hours 
worked were 486 hours in a 3-month period.  Payroll records show that the 
worker worked consistent hours and days per week.  

How many hours should she have worked in the 3-month period? 

How many actual hours did she work in the 3-month period? 

% of Minor Variation? 

Regularly scheduled or average hours?

What is her gross monthly wage?

528

8 hours per day x 22 days per month x 3 months = 528

486

8% 486 ÷ 528 = .92        1.00 - .92 = .08

regularly scheduled

$3,168.00

$18.00 x 8 x 22 = $3,168 gross monthly wage



Rip indicated on the SIF-2 that he works 6 hours per day 4 days per week earning 
$22.00 per hour.  The employer provides an SIF-5A indicating total hours worked 
were 250 hours in a 13-week period.  Payroll records show that he worked 
consistent hours and days per week.

How many hours should he have worked in the 13-week period? 

How many actual hours did he work in the 13-week period? 

% of Minor Variation? 

Regularly scheduled or average hours?

What is his gross monthly wage?

312
6 hours x 4 days x 13 weeks = 312

250

20% 250 ÷ 312 = .80       1.00 - .80 = .20

average hours

250 hours ÷ 3 months = 83.33 hours/mo. x $22.00 = $1,833.26

$1,833.26
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Subsection 2

Part-Time, Seasonal, and Intermittent workers

 Part-time: No set schedule or discernable pattern, and 

hours spent at employment are significantly less than 

the number of hours typically worked by employees in 

that industry.

 Seasonal: Work activities performed during a 

particular time of year.

 Intermittent: Pattern is sporadic with definite start and 

stop points and significant gaps in between.
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Intent To Work

 Beyond job of injury work pattern, Dept. of L&I v. 

Avundes (2000) requires us to consider worker’s 

intent to work.

 First, consider worker’s relationship to employer of 

injury.

 Then, consider worker’s relationship to that type of 

employment in general.
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School District Employees

 Most school district employees are Sub 2 because 

they have specific start and stop dates.

 Include wages from ALL other employment and all 

wages from the school district (coaching, stipends, 

etc.)

 Watch for specific jobs – some employees work

year-round and are regular & continuous.
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Calculating Subsection (2) Wages

 Total wages from all employment in any 12 

consecutive months prior to the date of injury, then 

divide by 12.

 SIE/TPA must review payroll records for all worker’s 

employment for at least 1 year prior to DOI.

– If unable to get records, must provide documentation of 

attempt (letter to worker).

 12 months immediately prior to DOI are default.
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Subsection 3 - Bonuses

 Always applies, regardless of whether worker is Sub 

(1) or (2).

 Add all bonuses paid in 12 months immediately 

preceding DOI, then divide by 12.

 Only applies to employer of injury.
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Subsection 4 – Like Wages

 Use when the wage is not fixed or cannot be fairly 

determined. (no contract of hire)

 Typically used when worker has worked less than one 

month and was not hired with a regular schedule.

 SIE should review payroll documents for 3 “like” 

employees, choose one, and explain why.
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Knowledge Check
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What Subsection?

Stacey was a stay-at-home mom who was hired to work at 

Round Up Coffee Corral from 7:00 am through 10:00 am 

three days a week (M-W).  Those are the only hours she is 

available to work outside the home.

 Sub 1

 Sub 2

 Sub 3

 Sub 4
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Junior was hired to work for Sunrise Farms from August through 

October doing various tasks.  He was injured while picking apples 

for the employer when he fell from a ladder.  When he is not 

harvesting apples, the remainder of his time is working as a general 

farm laborer for the same employer.  After receiving a work history, 

it shows that Junior did work for other farms throughout the year 

prior to his date of injury.

 Sub 1

 Sub 2

 Sub 3

 Sub 4
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Teddy was hired by Red Berry Farms during the height of 

harvest to pick strawberries.  Based on his job history, he 

typically works during harvest season.  Based on your 

interview with him he doesn’t work during the remainder of 

the year.  He was injured after two weeks on the job.

 Sub 1

 Sub 2

 Sub 3

 Sub 4
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Ricky works as a 7th grade History teacher for Columbia 

Junior Valley High School from September through June.  

In the summertime, he works at a box store.   He is 

assaulted by a student in the hallway in December.

 Sub 1

 Sub 2

 Sub 3

 Sub 4
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Kayce was hired as a salesperson for a shoe store 
during the summer when business is at its peak.  In 
October, his hours were cut in half so he picked up 
another job.  He was injured at the shoe store in 
December. Which subsection should we use to calculate 
his wages?

 Sub 1

 Sub 2

 Sub 3

 Sub 4

Why?
Even though he was working less than full time, he 
was working on a regular and continuous basis.
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Willa, a high school student was hired to clean stalls at the 

local fairground.  There are three week-long events each year 

and she works all three.  She has done this for the last two 

years.  Based on her job history, this is her only employment.  

A discussion with her confirmed that this is the only job she 

currently chooses to do.

 Sub 1

 Sub 2

 Sub 3

 Sub 4

Why?
Her job is intermittent with specific start and stop dates.  Since this is the 
only job she chooses to do, her relationship to employment is intermittent.
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Non-Standard Wages

 Regular and continuous employment pattern, but no 

hourly rate.

 Typically applies to workers paid by the mile, trip, or

piecework.

 Average earnings over a period of 3-12 months prior 

to the injury.
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Non-Standard Example

The worker is a truck driver who is paid $0.655 per mile. 
In the last 3 months, he drove 39,200 miles.

What is his total earnings for the 3 months?

39,200 x $0.655 = $25,676.00 total earnings

What is his gross monthly wage?

$25,676.00 ÷ 3 months = $8,558.67 gross monthly wage
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Cockle v. Dept. of L&I (2001)

 Actual cost of employer-provided health care benefits 

must be included in wages.

– Includes medical, dental, and vision

 Do not have to address whether the worker was 

“eligible” to access benefits at that time.
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Gross Monthly Wage
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Knowledge Check
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Gross Monthly Wage

Trevor says he earns $16.50 an hour and he works 8 hours 

a day, 5 days a week. What is his GMW?

$16.50 x 8 = $132 x 22 = $2,904
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Hetty indicates that at the time of injury she was earning 

$1,500 a week and worked an 8/5 schedule. What is her 

GMW?

$1,500 ÷ 5 = $300 x 22 = $6600
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Mr. Higgins says he earns $15.80 an hour and works 8 

hours a day, 5 days a week. His employer provides health 

care coverage in the amount of $600.00 per month. What is 

his GMW?

$15.80 x 8 = $126.40 x 22 = $2,780.80 + $600 = $3380.80
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Ms. Long’s employer says she earns $21.00 an hour and 

works 8 hours per day, 5 days per week and has employer-

provided health care coverage in the amount of $775.00 

per month. What is her GMW?

$21.00 x 8 = $168 x 22 = $3696 + $775 = $4471
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Moe, who owns Moe’s Tavern was injured on 6/15/2021 

after slipping on spilled beer behind the bar. Moe submitted 

payroll and tax records that support he pays himself 42.86 

per hour working 10 hours a day, 6 days a week. Moe 

reports 1000.00 per month in tips. What is his GMW?

$42.86 x 10hr = $4,286.00 x 26days = $11,143.60 + 

$1,000.00 (tips) = $12,143.60
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Top 5 Method Errors Found In Audit

1. Multiple Rates of Pay

2. Health Care Benefits

3. Bonuses

4. Other Compensation

5. Representative Period
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Documentation

 SIF-5A

 Payroll records

− These should include explanations of any pay codes

 Calculation of Monthly Wage as a Basis for Time-Loss 

Compensation (F207-227-000)
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Resources

 L&I self-insured section – self-insured main-page 
https://lni.wa.gov/insurance/self-insurance/about-self-insurance/ 

 Claims Adjudication Guidelines (CAG) – Wages

https://lni.wa.gov/insurance/_docs/CAGWages.pdf

 Forms and Templates – SIF 5A 

https://www.lni.wa.gov/insurance/self-insurance/about-self-

insurance/forms-publications

https://lni.wa.gov/insurance/self-insurance/about-self-insurance/
https://lni.wa.gov/insurance/_docs/CAGWages.pdf
https://www.lni.wa.gov/insurance/self-insurance/about-self-insurance/forms-publications
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Questions?

 Claim-specific questions: Call 360-902-6901 and ask for the claim 

adjudicator assigned to the claim.

 General claim questions: email us at SITrainerquestions@lni.wa.gov


