ELECTRICAL CURRENTS

A Newsletter from the Office of L&I Chief Electrical Inspector Wayne Molesworth July 2023

Question of the Month:

How many 12-2 with ground nonmetallic-sheathed cables can be Safety Tip of the Month
installed in an 18 cubic-inch plastic nail-on device box, which will

With summer in full swing, it is a good time
contain a flush-mounted duplex receptacle?

to remind everyone about electric shock
Find the answer on page 2. drowning hazards. Danger exists anywhere
the use of electricity and water coexist —

New Laws for Trainees Aspiring to be Journey Level| marinas, launch ramps, private docks,

. . . boatlifts, swimming pools, hot tubs, spas,
Electricians and Their Employers and irrigation pumps in contact with a body

As of July 1, changes are in effect for electrical trainees to qualify for | of water. Can you name others? These

the journey level (01) certification exam. Here’s what you need to | 2areascan conta.in stray glectrical I in
Know: the water, possibly leading to electric shock

drowning or injury from shock, including
Trainees death. Learn how to protect yourself and
others:
https://www.nfpa.org/Public-Education/
Staying-safe/Electrical-safety-around-water

e Those trainees with fewer than 3,000 hours of electrical
experience worked before July 1 must become registered
apprentices to perform (01) work.

e Those trainees with 3,000 or more hours of electrical experience
as of July 1, or completed a two-year electrical construction and
training program, may continue gaining (01) experience until July
1, 2026, without becoming registered apprentices.

e If you've been approved to take the certification exam before July 1, you are not required to complete an
apprenticeship, even when reapplying after that date.

Contractors
Electrical contractors wanting to hire someone learning to become an (01) electrician after July 1 have a few choices:
e Become a registered training agent for an apprenticeship program.

e Establish your own apprenticeship program approved through the Washington State Apprenticeship and Training
Council.

e Hire trainees with specific experience. See the second bullet point under “Trainees” in this article.
For more information

You can go online and download a fact sheet with more details, “Changes for those pursuing a journey level (01)
electrical certification,” publication number F500-153-000.

Learn more online at www.Lni.wa.gov/ElectricalApprenticeship.

Questions? Email ElectricalApprenticeship@Lni.wa.gov

This document may contain hyperlinks to internet web pages.
Access this PDF document online at:
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How do Trainees Prove 3000 Hours of Experience?

Section 2 of ESSB 5320 created an allowance for trainees with 3,000 hours of electrical experience worked before July
1, 2023 to continue accruing (01) hours without joining a registered apprenticeship. Hours can be specialty or (01)
hours. When an inspector finds a trainee performing electrical installations limited to (01) electricians they will :

e Ask the trainee for proof of being in a registered apprenticeship program approved by the Washington State
Apprenticeship and Training Council, or

e Verify their hours in L&I’s data base.

To record hours, turn in an Affidavit of Experience. Anyone can check hours of a trainee by using our Verify tool. You
can search by trainee name or certificate number.

If there is no record of the hours, the inspector will require the trainee’s employer to verify the needed hours. When
the trainee turns in their next affidavit, the electrical licensing team at L&I will confirm the trainee had the needed
hours to be performing (01) electrical installations. If the trainee did not have the needed experience they will lose
those (01) hours and both the trainee and employer would subject to citations and monetary fines.

Everyone who is learning the electrical trade has to maintain an active trainee certification. It does not matter if you
are enrolled in a registered apprenticeship or a specialty electrician gaining hours.

Rule Updates

Code Adoption - TAC Members

Thank you to everyone who submitted a WAC proposal and applied to the TAC. The TAC is set and the meeting is
Tuesday July 11, 2023 at the L&I headquarters located at 7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater, WA 98501.

Expedited Rule Now in Effect

Changes to WAC 296-46B-945 just adopted to implement ESSB 5320 became effective July 3, 2023. To learn more, visit
our “Rule Development” page.

Answer to the Question of the Month: Two 12-2
with ground cables. NEC 314.16: #12 volume allowance per
conductor = 2.25 in>. One duplex receptacle = 4.5 in® (double
volume allowance). Equipment grounds = 2.25 in® (single
volume allowance). Two cables = four conductors X 2.25 =9
in®. Total volume of conductors, grounds, and receptacle =
15.75 in®. This leaves 2.25 in® which would allow one 12-2 and
one 12-3 cable in this box which would bring the total to 18

in’.

Picture of the Month: The inspector who took this
picture did a double take. It looks like these conductor have
been without a raceway for a while. Can you find any other
safety concerns?

Click on the picture for a larger image.

This document may contain hyperlinks to internet web pages.
Access this PDF document online at: https:/Ini.wa.gov/licensing-permits/electrical/electrical-currents-newsletter/

Electrical Section website: www.Ini.wa.gov/ - Select Licensing & Permits, then Electrical

This document is available in alternative formats to accommodate persons with disabilities. For assistance, call 1-800-547-8367.
(TDD/TTY users, please call 360-902-5797.) Labor & Industries is an Equal Opportunity employer.
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