
Information Packet 

Public Hearing: Elevator Fee Increase (CMS Funding) 

Date: June 22, 2022 

Time: 9:00 a.m. 

Location: Virtual and telephonic hearing only. Please join by either: 

 Your computer or mobile app (Microsoft Teams)

Click here to join the meeting

 Or calling (audio only)

1-253-372-2181, Phone Conference ID: 437 259 221# (pound sign

must be entered)

The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) will hold a public hearing 

on the proposed elevator rules. The purpose of the hearing is to receive public comment 

on the proposed amendments.  

L&I is proposing a 17% fee increase for funding of a new Conveyance Management 

System (CMS). The CMS is the database used to provide permitting, inspection, and 

other information for customers and program staff. Our current system is aging, failing, 

and no longer meets the service needs. The fee increase will also support ongoing 

safety activities of L&I’s Elevator Program. 

The proposed increase would affect fees listed in chapter 296-96 Washington 

Administrative Code (WAC), including licensing, permits, and plan approvals. 

You can review the proposed rules here or by clicking on the program’s “Rule 

Development” page.  

If you require communication or accommodation arrangements, please contact 

Alicia Curry at 360-902-6244, before June 8, 2022. 

Please send written comments as follows: 

By mail to: Alicia Curry 

Department of Labor & Industries 

Field Services & Public Safety Division 

P.O. Box 44400 

Olympia, WA 98504-4400     

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_NjQxNTBjNzktZGE2MS00NDBhLWE3ZmUtMTQwZTNkMmQyZTdk%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2211d0e217-264e-400a-8ba0-57dcc127d72d%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22acb1df6f-3588-43aa-b503-63aebce21ddc%22%7d
tel:+12533722181,,645544642# 
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
http://www.lni.wa.gov/safeelevator
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96
https://lni.wa.gov/rulemaking-activity/?query=Elevator
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/elevators/laws-rules-policies#rule-development
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/elevators/laws-rules-policies#rule-development


By electronic mail to: Alicia.Curry@Lni.wa.gov 

By fax to: 360-902-5292

Comments must be received by 5 p.m. on June 22, 2022. 

Details of specific proposed amendments will be published in Washington State 

Register 22-11 on June 1, 2022. The tentative adoption date for these rules is July 19, 

2022, and the tentative effective date is August 19, 2022.  

List of affected WACs: 

 WAC 296-96-00922, Licensing fees.

 WAC 296-96-01005, Obtaining permits.

 WAC 296-96-01010, Installation and alteration permit fees.

 WAC 296-96-01025, Permit fees for personnel and material hoists.

 WAC 296-96-01027, Permit fee refunds.

 WAC 296-96-01030, Plan approval.

 WAC 296-96-01035, Inspection fees.

 WAC 296-96-01040, Construction-use inspection fee.

 WAC 296-96-01045, Residential elevator inspection and fees.

 WAC 296-96-01055, Technical services and consultations.

 WAC 296-96-01057, Accident investigations.

 WAC 296-96-01060, Inspections after normal business hours.

 WAC 296-96-01065, Annual operating permit fees.

https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-00922
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01005
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01010
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01025
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01027
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01030
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01035
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01040
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01045
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01055
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01057
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01060
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-96-01065

