
Information Packet 
Public Hearing: Boiler Fee Increase (FY 23) 

 
 
Date:  February 16, 2022 
Time:  10:30 a.m. 
Location:  Virtual and telephonic hearing only. Please join by either:  

• Your computer or mobile app (Microsoft Teams)  
Click here to join the meeting  
 

• Or calling (audio only)  
1-253-372-2181, Phone Conference ID: 203 015 674# 

 
The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) will hold a public hearing on the 
proposed amendments to the boiler fees under WAC 296-104-700, What are the inspection 
fees—Examination fees—Certificate fees—Expenses?. The purpose of the hearing is to 
receive public comment on the proposed amendments. 
 
The Board of Boiler Rules and L&I are proposing a fee increase of 5.58% for boiler and 
pressure vessel inspections and other Boiler Program public safety activities. This is the Office 
of Financial Management’s maximum allowable fiscal growth factor rate for fiscal year 2023.  
 
L&I evaluated the budget and projected revenue of the program. A fee increase is needed to 
support the cost of ongoing services. 
 
You can review the proposed rules here or by clicking on the program’s Laws & Rules page.  
  
If you require communication or accommodation arrangements, please contact Alicia Curry 
at 360-902-6244, before February 1, 2022. 
 
Please send written comments as follows:  
 
By mail: Alicia Curry 
  Department of Labor & Industries 
  Field Services & Public Safety Division 
  P.O. Box 44400 

 Olympia, WA 98504-4400      
 
By E-mail: Alicia.Curry@Lni.wa.gov  
 
By fax:  360-902-5292 
 
Submit written comments by 5 p.m. on February 11, 2022. 
 

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_NmZjMTk3MWYtODY0Ny00MzkxLWE4ODEtZTBhOWM1Yzk4M2Jk%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2211d0e217-264e-400a-8ba0-57dcc127d72d%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%225f6fb773-3e56-4283-86a5-4ec77e6b4de8%22%7d
tel:+12533722181,,645544642#%20
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-104-700
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-104-700
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/boilers/board-of-boiler-rules
https://lni.wa.gov/rulemaking-activity/?query=Boiler
https://lni.wa.gov/licensing-permits/boilers/laws-rules


Details of specific proposed amendments will be published in Washington State Register 22-01 
on January 5, 2022. The tentative adoption date for these rules is April 19, 2022, and the 
tentative effective date is July 1, 2022.  
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