Laws and rules pertaining to boilers, water heaters, and unfired pressure vessels can be found in the following:

The laws and rules are maintained and updated by the State Office of the Code Reviser.

Download our Boilers and Unfired Pressure Vessel Laws Book (updated April 2020).

Rule development

2022 Fee Increase

The Board of Boiler Rules and the Washington Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) are considering changes to the boiler rules that increase fees by 5.58% for fiscal year 2023.  A fee increase is needed to help support expenses for inspections of boilers and pressure vessels and other program public safety activities.

The rule changes affect WAC 296-104-700.  What are the inspection fees- Examination fees - Certification fees - Expenses?

Rulemaking Documents

CR-101 Preproposal

Here's what happens next:

Oct. 19: Preproposal (CR-101) filed with the state's Office of the Code Reviser.

Dec. 21: The proposed rules (CR102) are expected to be filed with the state's Office of the Code Reviser.

Feb. 16, 2022: A public hearing on the proposed rules is tentatively scheduled.

April 19, 2022: The final rules (CR-103) are expected to be filed with the state's Office of the Code Reviser.

July 1, 2022: The new rules are expected to take effect.

2021 Fee Increase Corrections:

The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries has adopted changes that make corrections to the boiler fees.  Because of a typographical error, some of the boiler fees that were adopted July 2, were incorrect.

The changes affect WAC 296-104-700, What are the Inspection fees- Examination fees- Certificate fees- Expenses?

The correct fees

Power boilers:

1. 100-500 square feet, at a hospital or school                           $38.40 for external inspection

2. 500-2,500 square feet, at a large industrial facility

-For each additional 2,500 square feet.                                       $38.40  for internal inspection

Pressure vessels:

3. Less than 15 square feet, such as 80 gallon

air tank used at auto repair shops and other locations.              $38.40 for internal inspection

4. 50-100 square feet, such as at a large hospital or

marijuana growing site.                                                                $38.40 for external inspection

Rulemaking documents

Here's what happens next:

Oct. 5: The final rules (CR-103) were filed with the state's Office of the Code Reviser.

Nov. 5: The new rules take effect.

All Boiler Program Rulemaking