

Industrial Insurance Medical Advisory Committee (IIMAC)

AGENDA

Date: 24 July 2025 Time: 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Andrew Friedman, MD | Chair Kirk Harmon, MD | Vice-Chair Virtual Only:

For Zoom click this link at the start of the meeting Meeting number: 814 1041 7017 Password: IIHCAC1!

To dial in, call: 253-215-8782 Meeting number: 814 1041 7017 Password: 41470876

*Denotes an action item

Min Time & Lead Topic 1:00 - 1:05Welcome and Call to Order 5 Andrew Friedman Virtual Meeting Tips Suzyn Daniel 1:05 - 1:20Introductions Andrew Friedman New Associate Medical Director – Deborah Havens, DO, MPH Suzyn Daniel **Review Agenda** 15 Gary Franklin Approve Minutes* Victoria Rich Safety Tip 1:25 - 1:35Kim Wallace ACHIEv Summary 15 Laurie Gwerder 1:35 - 3:35Zach Gray Posttraumatic Stress Disorder Clinical Guideline Jennifer Jutte 120 Vote to release for Public Comment* Stephen Thielke Dawn Ehde 3:35 - 3:50 Break 15 3:50 - 4:35Gary Franklin Jennifer Jutte 45 Pain Subcommittee Discussion Stephen Thielke Dawn Ehde 4:35 - 4:45Andrew Friedman Retreat Planning 10 Suzyn Daniel 4:45 - 4:50Updates: 5 Kim Wallace Agency 4:50 - 4:55Public Comment 5 Andrew Friedman 4:55 - 5:00 Agenda Ideas for October 23, 2025 5 Andrew Friedman Wrap Up

2025 Meetings: January 23, May 8, July 24, & October 23



WORKING TOGETHER TO KEEP PEOPLE WORKING

Note: All times are approximate and subject to change.



Background

The Industrial Insurance Medical Advisory Committee (IIMAC) was formed by the Washington State Legislature in 2007. Chapter 51.36 RCW (app.leg.wa.gov) authorizes the IIMAC to:

"Advise the department on matters related to the provision of safe, effective, and cost-effective treatments for injured workers, including but not limited to the development of practice guidelines and coverage criteria, review of coverage decisions and technology assessments, review of medical programs, and review of rules pertaining to health care issues."

Membership

The Industrial Insurance Medical Advisory Committee (IIMAC) has 14 members. Members are nominated by statewide clinical groups, specialty societies, and/or associations and are appointed by the director of L&I. The current IIMAC members are the following:

Andrew Friedman, MD (Chair) Kirk Harmon, MD (Vice-Chair) Jiho Bryson, MD Greg Carter, MD Michael Codsi, MD Laurie Gwerder, ARNP Monica Haines, DO Chris Howe, MD JC Leveque, MD Louis Lim, MD, MPH Linda Seaman, MD Stephen Thielke, MD Patricia Waring, MD Dawn Ehde, PhD



WORKING TOGETHER TO KEEP PEOPLE WORKING