
What employers and delivery drivers 
need to know about worker rights

Washington law provides workers with a number of rights and protections. 

They include:

At least the Washington state 
minimum wage.

Overtime pay at least 
1.5 times the regular rate.

Paychecks at least 
once a month 
on a regularly 
scheduled payday.

The Equal Pay and 
Opportunities Act 
bars employers from 
providing unequal 
pay or advancement 
based on gender.

Independent contractors are exempt from 
the minimum wage act (MWA) — but wrongly 
labeling employees as independent contractors 
to avoid complying is a violation of the law.

A 30-minute (unpaid) meal break if 
working 5+ hours and a 10-minute paid 
break for every 4 hours worked.

A pay statement that shows the pay period, hours 
worked, pay rate, number of piece work units 
(if piece work), gross pay, and all deductions.

At least 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours 
worked (for most workers), and a monthly statement 
listing accrued, used, and available hours.

The Washington State Family 
Care Act lets employees use 
earned paid leave to take care 
of family members in certain 

situations.

For more information visit: www.Lni.wa.gov/DeliveryDrivers

Upon request, foreign language support and formats for persons with disabilities are 
available. Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, call 711. L&I is an equal opportunity employer.
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