Find videos

Search the video catalog. Most videos require a Borrower ID to reserve or view online through the licensed streaming service we offer.

Find a list of videos to watch online if you don't have a Borrower ID.

About the Video Library

Learn about the L&I Safety & Health Video Library

L&I's Safety & Health Video Library is a comprehensive video training library, with nearly 1500 videos. The videos cover a wide variety of subjects from accident prevention to workplace violence, and reflect the diversity of occupations in Washington State.

Anyone in Washington state with a Borrower ID may borrow videos in either VHS or DVD format. Some videos are viewable online.

Viewers with a Borrower account ID can also access L&I's subscription to a streaming video collection with over 600 safety & health videos. Search the video catalog to find videos in both collections.

Video Reservation Information

Become a Borrower

Are you a Washington state resident and want to borrow DVD/VHS videos or access the videos in the licensed streaming collection?

Reserve DVD or VHS Videos

Video Library Policies

Obtain materials for their intended purpose

  • All requests must be made through the Safety & Health Video Library.
  • Videos are available for loan in Washington State only.
  • Videos are checked out only to you solely for your use. You may not at any time loan them to someone else.
  • Streaming video accounts are only for your use. You may not share your borrower account ID with another person.

Respect the copyright

  • Unless specifically noted in the catalog and on the DVD itself, all videos and related materials are fully protected by copyright under Title 17 of the United States Code of Federal Regulations.
  • Unauthorized duplication of copyrighted materials will result in immediate cancellation of borrowing privileges and possible fines under Federal law.

Give advance notice

  • You can schedule videos up to 6 months in advance.
  • Please give us 7 business days notice before you want to show videos. We ship 1 week before your show date. The videos will arrive 1-2 business days before your show date.
  • Please use the current video reservation form (F417-206-000) to order videos.
  • Olympia area residents must pick up and return videos in person. Allow at least 2 days for scheduling and 1 day for pickup.

Return videos on time

  • You can borrow up to 5 videos for 7 calendar days.
  • Instead of having a late return, call us to see if we can extend your loan.
  • Three late returns will result in immediate cancellation of borrowing privileges.

Handle videos with care

  • DVDs, if not securely snapped into the holder, will slide around in the case causing scratches and damage during shipment.
  • Please be sure to rewind all VHS videos and place each one properly in its case.
  • VHS tapes can be easily damaged by forcing them into cases backwards or upside-down.
  • Protect videos from excessive heat or inclement weather.
  • Video media damaged beyond repair will be charged to you at current replacement cost as if it were lost.

Use traceable shipping only

  • You must return videos by traceable carrier. Your only cost for use of the video materials is the cost of return shipping by a traceable carrier such as UPS, FedEx, or US Postal Service registered mail.
  • If you or your shipper loses or damages a video or DVD, you will be charged for the full replacement cost at the current vendor's price, plus taxes, shipping, and handling. The average cost of each VHS or DVD is $500.
    • When shipping by UPS or FedEx (or some other commercial shippers) your package is automatically insured for only $100. You may want to purchase additional coverage.
  • All borrowers, including state employees, must use a traceable shipper unless personally delivering videos to the Tumwater building service location during regular operating hours.

Return videos properly

  • When using a delivery service such as UPS or FedEx, use the printed address on the
    reverse side of your shipping label.
  • If you choose to ship via U.S. Postal Service Registered Mail, we recommend that
    you purchase insurance to protect you in case of loss.
  • Address U.S. Postal Service video shipments to:
    Department of Labor & Industries
    Safety & Health Video Library
    PO Box 44607
    Olympia WA 98504-4607

Video Library - Frequently-Asked Questions (FAQ)

The Safety & Health Video Library is operated by the L&I Division of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH) and the Administrative Services Division.


Introduction
I. What is the Department of Labor & Industries Video Library?
II. Who may use the Safety & Health Video Library?
III. Why do I have to register to watch some videos online?
IV. Is there a charge?
V. How do I sign up?
VI. How do I schedule videos?
VII. How long may I keep videos?
VIII. What if I keep videos past due?
IX. What if I lose or damage videos?
X. How do I return videos?
XI. May I duplicate videos?


Important message

Some videos may contain code violations.
Many commercially produced safety and health videos are based on Federal OSHA standards. Federal OSHA standards may not be as stringent as the Washington State industrial safety and health standards. Every effort has been made by the library to evaluate the videos before adding them to the collection. Safety and health standards may have changed since the time of purchase. The user assumes the responsibility of previewing the videos before showing and using them with a knowledgeable instructor.

Workplace safety and health is a top priority of all persons who run businesses and work in Washington. By viewing one or more of our videos, you can help fight the high cost of workplace injuries and illnesses. Our videos are provided to aid, instruct, inform, promote discussion, and promote a safe and healthy work environment to employers and employees in the state of Washington.

(Back to top)


Introduction

I. What is the Department of Labor & Industries Video Library?

The Safety & Health Video Library is a service provided by the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries. It is a comprehensive workplace safety and health video library, with nearly 1500 videos, some viewable online. They cover a wide variety of subjects from accident prevention to workplace violence, reflecting the diversity of occupations in Washington. The collection is geared toward maintaining Washington's high standards in occupational safety and health with a mission to save lives and prevent injury or illness.

Library materials are available for loan in Washington State only. Vendor contact information is available on the website within each title's full description for those who wish to buy directly from the vendors. The library does not sell videos.

Library hours

Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

If you need to schedule or stream videos, set up a free borrower account, or get information about library services, you can reach us at the following:

(Back to top)


II. Who may use the Safety & Health Video Library ?

The library is available to any employer or worker in the state of Washington. Borrower accounts are established by individuals, not by businesses. There is no limit to borrower accounts per business.

Videos are shipped only to physical addresses within the state of Washington.

(Back to top)


III. Why do I have to register to watch some videos online?

Some of the videos in our library are available on YouTube, and can be watched by anyone. L&I has also purchased a licensing agreement with a video vendor that allow us to stream some of the videos in our library with people who have a current borrower account ID to watch online. Remember - videos are available for loan or streaming in Washington State only.

  • Videos with this icon require a borrower account ID to stream: (Insert icon fonts when ready)
  • Videos with this icon can be viewed by anyone:

(Back to top)


IV. Is there a charge?

There is no charge to borrow videos. However, customers must pay return shipping charges for videos.

(Back to top)


V. How do I sign up?

Become a borrower by filling out the borrower agreement form (F417-205-000) and then mail or email (SHVideo@Lni.wa.gov) your form to the video librarian. A borrower ID number will be issued to you upon completion of the necessary forms.

(Back to top)


VI. How do I schedule videos?

When contacting the video library to borrow videos, please:

  • Have your borrower account ID number ready.
  • Have a list of the videos you wish to reserve.
    • For a printable version, download the video reservation form (F417-206-000).
  • Indicate the date on which you wish to use the requested materials.
  • Include the video ID numbers for the requested materials.
  • It is helpful to include alternate titles and dates in case your first choice is not available.
Advance notice

Please give us 8 days notice before you want to show videos. The videos will arrive 1-2 business days before your show date.

Six-month feature

You can schedule videos up to 6 months in advance.

(Back to top)


VII. How long may I keep videos?

You can borrow up to 5 videos for 7 calendar days. The week loan begins with your show date, even though you will receive the videos several days before. Call us if you haven't received them by the day before your show date.

(Back to top)


VIII. What if I keep videos past due?

Videos must be returned on time!

Call us for an extension before you are late returning the videos. Three late returns will result in immediate cancellation of borrowing privileges. Late videos must be returned back to us overnight via any traceable carrier. Also, please return phone call messages from us promptly.

(Back to top)


IX. What if I lose or damage videos?

Borrowers are responsible for the full replacement costs of any lost or damaged videos, including the shipping case, printed materials and collection fees.

(Back to top)


X. How do I return videos?

Many borrowers can use United Parcel Service, Federal Express, U.S. Postal Service Registered Mail, or some other traceable carrier for return shipment.

Whatever method used, it's imperative that it be TRACEABLE. If the video is late you must overnight it back to us, so that any future booking may be kept. Since the average replacement cost per video is $500, purchasing insurance is recommended but not required.

We provide the return-shipping label. Turn over the shipping card on the box and you will find our pre-printed return address on the back. It is important to fill out and return the packing list inside the shipping box.

If returning by the U.S. Postal Service, you must use registered mail. The US Postal Service return address is:

Department of Labor & Industries
Safety and Health Video Library
PO Box 44607
Olympia, WA 98504-4607

  • Thurston County borrowers must return videos in person to the L&I Tumwater Service Location.

(Back to top)


XI. May I duplicate videos?

Unless specifically noted in the catalog or on the DVD itself, all videos and related materials are fully protected by copyright under Title 17 of the United States Code of Federal Regulations.

Unauthorized duplication of copyrighted materials will result in immediate cancellation of borrowing privileges, and possible fines under Federal law.

(Back to top)