Licensing & Permits
L&I inspects electrical work, boilers, elevators and manufactured homes. We license electrical professionals, plumbers and construction contractors, and ensure their safe practices.
Use this search tool to get all the details of an approved Intent or Affidavit for prevailing wages.
Important note about Rates: Choosing correct worker classifications depends upon determinations published by L&I.
If you remodeling or repairing your manufactured home, you may need a permit. Use this information to determine if you need a permit, how to purchase one, and requesting an inspection for the work done.
Find an Apprenticeship Program in Washington State.
News & Events
Everett contractor faces felony theft charge in $55,000 workers’ comp scam
EVERETT — An Everett man caught remodeling homes while claiming he was too injured to work has been charged with felony theft in a workers’ compensation fraud case.
Flaw in residential elevators could put kids at risk — elevators installed before 2018 require safety upgrades
TUMWATER — The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) is urging people with older residential elevators make safety improvements to prevent danger to children.
Construction framer fined more than $400,000 for breaking the same safety rules he’s been cited for 15 times before
A Snohomish County construction company owner is facing nearly $400,000 in fines for allowing crew members to work more than 26 feet above the ground without fall protection—the same violation he’s been cited and fined for 15 times in the past.
Pierce County roofing contractor accused of faking injury in $54K workers’ comp scam
TUMWATER — A Pierce County man who claimed his on-the-job injury was so severe he could no longer work as a roofer has been charged with stealing more than $54,000 in benefits from the state workers’ compensation system.