Workers are protected by laws and rules covering workers' wages, working conditions, overtime pay, and prevailing wage on public works construction projects.
Drivers for companies such as Lyft and Uber will have the right to minimum pay, paid sick time, workers’ compensation, and other protections beginning Jan. 1, 2023.
Workers are entitled to protection from discrimination. L&I handles safety & health, wage & hour, and some other types of workplace discrimination.
Washington State does not require employers to provide leave or pay for holidays, vacations, or bereavement.
Forms & Publications
News & Events
Vancouver company owes more than $300,000 in pay and penalties for wage violations on school projects
TUMWATER – A Vancouver, Wash., contractor owes $201,223 in wages and interest to about 20 employees on construction projects at four area schools.
Reminder: Raises for minimum wage workers, expanded rights for rideshare drivers, increased wage transparency for job seekers among new laws taking effect Jan. 1
TUMWATER — There are significant changes coming in January that impact workers around the state.
UPDATE New law requires job postings to include how much positions pay
Specifies which employers must comply with the new job posting requirements.
TUMWATER — A new state law taking effect Jan. 1 requires employers with 15 or more employees to include specific wage or salary details and a description of benefits when they post a job opportunity.
L&I selects Drivers Union to operate statewide Driver Resource Center for rideshare drivers
TUMWATER – Following a competitive bid process, the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) has reached an agreement with the Drivers Union to create a Drivers Resource Center.