Continuing education (CE) is a requirement for certified claims administrators. CE courses are designed to increase your knowledge or skill regarding the administration of workers' compensation claims under Title 51 RCW.

Three-year cycle

Certified claims administrators must maintain certification through CE over a 3-year cycle that begins on the anniversary of their certification. You must earn 45 credits every 3 years. All CE credits earned within that 3-year period will apply to the current cycle (WAC 296-15-360).

Continuing education criteria

Credits are earned in the following subject areas in accordance with WAC 296-15-350:

  • Workers’ compensation subjects that help workers heal and return to work, and focus on areas of recovery.
  • Existing or historical workers’ compensation statutes, case law, rule, or L&I policy.
  • New developments in workers’ compensation, such as, but not limited to, changes in statute, case law, rules, or L&I policy.
  • Injury prevention and safety. (This subject is limited to 5 of the 45 credits earned for each 3-year cycle).

The 45 credits must include all trainings that we designate as mandatory.

The Curriculum Advisory Committee (CAC) advises L&I on the number of credits a course will be given. If you do not earn enough CE credits within the 3-year cycle, you will be required to retake the written test to maintain L&I certification.

Mandatory classes

Certain classes are designated by L&I as mandatory. In order to maintain certification through CE, you must attend all mandatory classes.

Classes given by L&I regarding important changes such as new statutes, rules or case law are likely to be designated as mandatory. Notifications of upcoming mandatory classes are provided through L&I's email bulletin updates.

Reporting credits

A certified claims administrator must report earned CE credit to L&I. To report:

We will provide you with confirmation. Please allow 2-4 weeks for processing.

Sign up for email bulletin updates.

Continuing education courses

Register for available L&I CE courses online. For other courses listed, call the course sponsor to register.

Certified claims administrators, and those working toward certification, have priority for registration.

Update 2022 Presentation Materials

Update 2022 Opening

Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals Updates and Court Updates

IME Review

Presumptive Law for Radiological Hazardous Waste, Facility Workers, Health Care, and Frontline Workers

Web Resources

Reopening Dates

    Resources for Update 2022

    The Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) updated its rulemaking website Rules filed October 18, 2022

    Chapter 296-14 WAC, Industrial Insurance – Verification for Presumptive Coverage of Frontline Workers and Health Care Workers

    Training 2023

    Claim Validity January 2023